Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom receiver

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by darwin-t, Dec 27, 2014.

  1. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    This is supposed to be a receiver for a Phantom 1.1.1 and Phantom 2. It is 2.4 Ghz. I want to use it in another project. It doesn't match the photo in any of the advanced manuals that show how to bind them to a transmitter.

    Does anyone happen to know what each 3 pin connector does? I assume at least one of them is ground, 5 volts positive and outpput signal. But which one? And which pin is the ground? And what does the other set do?

    Thanks.

    Edit: I found a photo of an FC40 receiver with cables attached, so I know which pins are the grounds and which are the signals. The output goes to X2 on the NAZA. I have no idea what the other cable is for.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
  3. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hmmmm. Interesting. I can't find a DR16 receiver without a transmitter, though.

    I DID get mine to bind, I think.I powered it up with a BEC and got the blinking red light. I did the thing with the transmitter and got a green blinking light. I get the blinking green light every time I power up the receiver and transmitter.

    Having said that, I doubt if it is going to work with my project - a Pixhawk clone that says it needs PPM or S-BUS. The Phantoms use D-BUS, but I have read that the two are synonymous.

    Unless this by some miracle this works, I guess I'll go a whole different route and get a Turnigy 9X transmitter and receiver and a PPM converter if needed.

    Thanks for the help.

    FWIW, the photos in the Phantom manuals show only one 3 wire connector and the button and LED on the bottom of the board.
     
  4. discv

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    London, UK
    This is not definitive -just my thoughts.

    S-bus & D-bus are the same thing.
    The X1 servo cable is only required with a PPM set up.

    I have seen various issues experienced by folk trying to use the dual antenna Phantom Rx. Including me!

    Provided you are using a DJ6 Tx, you could use any Futaba or Futaba compatible Rx. And that should work out cheaper than a whole new radio system.

    Helipal were able to supply me with a DR16 Rx.
     
  5. darwin-t

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh, that is good to know!!!! Thank you for that info.

    FWIW, I have the Phantom 2 receiver. I believe that is the same as the Phantom 1.1.1 receiver.

    http://www.centuryheli.com/products/productdetail.htm?prtnm=DJIPH31&pageid=895

    Here is the receiver for the original Phantom 1

    http://www.centuryheli.com/products/productdetail.htm?prtnm=DJIPH19&pageid=895