Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom GPS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by alwil338, Nov 7, 2014.

  1. alwil338

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fork Union, Va
    I know we should not have to do these things- but has anybody tried to mount an
    elevated GPS antenna on top of their Phantom? It seems this would space the electronics
    further away and stop some interference. Just a thought.
     
  2. Noël

    Noël Guest

  3. alwil338

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fork Union, Va
    Thanks- Noel
    I have viewed the posts and have ordered the parts for the mod. I figure this will help
    increase the number. Have to do something.
     
  4. alwil338

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fork Union, Va
    I did these modifications and the GPS count went from 6-8 to 8-10.
    A big improvement! Disconnected the leg compass and ran the calibration software.
    Works great! Thanks guys for the past posts on this.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Cyclone

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    That looks good but wont the wire get caught by the prop?? Might just be the angle of the pic that makes it look that way :)
     
  6. RJNear

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question what is the pat number or model for the elevated GPS Antenna and is it a simple unplug current antenna and plug in the new antenna in the phantom vision 2+?
     
  7. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    63
    +1
     
  8. alwil338

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fork Union, Va
    Guys- I can assure you there is plenty of room. The picture makes it look closer than it is. I haven't
    had a tip over yet and that is my greatest concern. It folds down to store in my case.
    Thanks- Al
     
  9. alwil338

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fork Union, Va
    RJNear- Yes it plugged right in- you just have to watch the height of the new plug. Point the
    GPS with the arrow to the front and run the software.

    DJI Naza-M V2 GPS Module
    GPS Aluminum Folding Antenna Mount

    Thanks- Al
     
  10. RJNear

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info I did this upgrade and I am not getting 7-10 plus satellites and no longer dropping when video recording. I had done the cooper foil shielding mod but was only able to get 6-7 and typically would drop to 5 once I started recording.

    Thanks again for this info.

    Robert
     
  11. flyguy33

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I bought my third bird-- this time the V3. Initially, I am Very happy with GPS and receive 4-5 more sats than any of my previous birds. Even got 6 in my house where I never received more than 1-2.