Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom drifts now with gimbal isntalled

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by volcomstone411, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. volcomstone411

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, just probably an amateur comment, but I've now installed a longer landing gear and gimbal from ebay. It all works fine. However now the phantom 2 is really hard to control. It wont even hold it's spot on gps mode now, and on failsafe it hovers in my general location but drifts all over the place. It just seems like I've lost all stability and lost confidence flying. Is it always like this when you install a gimbal?

    Here's my setup to be clear

    [​IMG]

    weighs 1416g

    Probably should of just got zenmuse 3d, but I like the fact I can customise the gimbal to do what I want with bgc gui.
     
  2. UrAwFuL

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I can't answer your question.. but I was wondering what and where did you get your gimbal and landing gears. I kinda wanted that setup but eBay doesn't have that landing gear and I'm not waiting a month from China.
     
  3. canadavenyc

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    2
    One thing that occurs to me is that if you still have the original legs, try putting those back on and see if there's a difference. If you're suddenly okay, then that means the legs are to blame. If it's still bad, then try taking the gimbal off and see if it gets better. If it does, then you know it's something with the gimbal that's to blame.
     
  4. volcomstone411

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    both of ebay. I live in uk and there are some available in uk. Guess they already came from China. It's my perfect setup too, but is 100g over DJI rec Take off weight
     
  5. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Your compass... is... where?
     
  6. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know if its just an optical illusion but looking at that photo its seems that everything is mounted to one side and not in the middle, have you checked its balance by fastening a string between opposing motors across the top of the phantom and then tying another string on where they cross so that you can lift it off the deck and see if its well out of balance?
     
  7. volcomstone411

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    behind the red strap on the left landing skid.

    Does compass need to be mounted vertically?

    Is balance really that crucial? will phantom not trim it out with thrust? Thought that was the perk of multirotor platforms
     
  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Take one of your old landing gears and hack the leg off and keep compass in original position. Then do an advance calibration and compass cal and you'll have your stability back. You'll have to experiment w/gains to work around the weight issue, but start with getting your compass close to where it was originally for stability.
     
  9. Madwak

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes it should trim out with thrust but you've already mentioned that your phantom is over the recommended take off weight so it may be struggling to achieve that if the balance is too bad.
     
  10. volcomstone411

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you all for your help. A friend of mine is coming to have his zenmuse 3d fitted later, so i'll weigh his with zenmuse on. I'll probably go down that route.
     
  11. volcomstone411

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea my phantom 2 is now stripped back to basic weight, but it still finds it hard to hover in one spot. I've recalibrated the compass etc etc.

    I'm thinking that the compass maybe dead. It did take a whack a few weeks back.