Phantom Arrives Tomorrow !

Reaction score
This is an intro post. Will surely be reaching out over the next weeks as I get my Quad up and running, and hopefully not too many down in pieces !

I have been flying RC for many years at this point. Planes have been my forte. I have done a bit of RC rotor wing flight starting back in the early 2000's when the lite-machines first electric RC copter came out. Lately have spent some time flying the smaller Blade copters. I can hover ok, but never advanced a lot more due to time and other constraints.

Have wanted a quad for quite awhile now and this morning took the plunge with a little mad money and ordered the FC40. Of course the wife won't know until the Fedex man makes a Saturday stop at the house ;-)

Anyways. I look forward to getting it running and having some fun participating in the forum

All I can say is its VERY addicting! I fly 2-3 packs every evening. I also bring it with me to work(sales job [emoji106]) and try to fly it in all areas and get videos of the different landscaping thru East Tennessee. Anyhow did I say it's addicting! Have fun.

Just keep it in GPS mode for the first 50 flights or so and you will be fine.

Tip for experienced RC pilots:

Don't try Atti mode unless you are really confident and know what to expect. And when you first start with Atti, make sure it's high in the air. Always switch back to GPS mode before you bring it in to land. In Atti mode, it will not stop, it just keeps following the trajectory you set it to. That was my lesson. It is not a plane that goes into a controlled glide path and gently bleeds off speed when you flare. It goes straight like a bullet and only stops when you give opposite thrust. In GPS mode it just stops and hovers when you let go off the controls.