Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Phantom 3 Standard 2.4 GHz connection got continuity

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Arya, Aug 1, 2016.

  1. Arya

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Helo everyone. I have a question about my P3S remote controller.

    I just test the continuity oh the 2.4 GHz antenna connector. It has continuity without any resistant. Is it normal? The 5.8 GHz doesn't has continuity at all.

    Best range I got was 300 meters using ARGtek and lost the 5.8 GHz signal, then goes RTH. I uploaded the video on my YouTube channel: AryaDegaTube. The 2.4 GHz still displaying the video and telemetry with many interferences.
     
    #1 Arya, Aug 1, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2016
  2. Arya

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here are some pictures:

    My remote controler with ARGtek antenna mounting.
    [​IMG]

    No continuity for 5.8GHz
    [​IMG]

    Continuity exist on 2.4 GHz
    (shows by LED light on my multimeter)
    [​IMG]

    Continuity exist from the remote wifi modul
    [​IMG]

    Also there is continuity on the 2.4 GHz ARGtek antenna.
    [​IMG]

    I also did measurement to the stock DJI 2.4 GHz (square shape) antenna and the result is no continuity.
     
  3. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Your using an Analog meter, and I guess if you have a continuity light, that light will only come on at about 200 ohms or less. I have been trying to get people to post what the Ohms are on factory good antennas to trouble shoot some of the signal problems.
    What is the actual ohms value of your continuity?
    Note that meters that go up to 20 meg some of those high scales 2 meg and up will read through your body, so you wouldn't want to check something while having your fingers touch the probes them selves. Give you a "False Positive". Dose that phrase actually real. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Arya

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you. I tought the LED will only lights when it comes 0 ohm. I will looking for digital multimeter to make sure the resistancy and post the result soon.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,660
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Try it on some light bulbs of various wattage's, 12v or 110 volt, see what your results are.
    You always have to test your test equipment, an analog meter should work fine if the ohms will go up high enough, I couldn't tell by your pics (trying to see what positions you had for testing in ohms).
    Rod
     
  6. Arya

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    I see, Rod. Thanks. I'm still looking for new digital multimeter for more precission and easy to read. I will post the pic when got one.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots