Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Phantom 3 Pro- Gimbal not Steady

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by HP Entertainment, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    So my Phantom 3 Pro Gimbal does not seem to be activating. Its not staying steady and instead seems to shake with the Phantom 3 as it flys. The gimbal can also be easily be manipulated by touch.

    Any ideas what is going on? I've flown countless times and now the gimbal won't work the way it used too.
     
  2. MJB1971

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have you crashed it?
     
  3. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I havent crashed it. I've always taken really good care of my Phantom 3. Last I remember I performed the new update. However have not read of anybody having the same issue after updating.
     
  4. Bryn Williams

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    Have you checked the anti vibration mounts are properly seated and the anti drop pins are still in place? I had a similar issue on my P3 pro, after investigating the issue I realised that somehow one had become dislodged which caused the whole gimbal to shake slightly just like in your vid
     
  5. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    How did you go about re-inserting the pins?

     
  6. Bryn Williams

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
    I was lucky both of my pins were still in, it was one of the other corners that had separated
    you can just as easily use a small tywrap instead of the pins anyway just fix it in a loose loop
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I think your grub screw in the yaw arm has come loose.
    There is a hidden hex grub screw at where the gimbal arm attaches to the gimbal board. On the opposite side of the flex cable is this grub screw. It has know to come loose from vibrations. Just tighten it to the flat side of the shaft.
     
  8. JerEl

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    NW Florida, USA
    Follow Mako's advice but you should also do the gimbal calibration and see if that helps. Make sure it's on a perfectly level surface when you calibrate it.
     
  9. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the great advice! Where can I find this hidden hex grub screw? There a quite a few screws on the gimbal.
     
  10. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Still having problems with this gimbal. I've re-updated it and am still getting this shaking.
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
     
  12. Kadidlehopper

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the screw replacement set DJI offers has replacement grub screws in it? I cant tell from the image they offer..
     
  13. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Does not. It is an M3x4. Any hardware store. Not Home Depot. Old fashion mom and pop store