Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 fpv with smartphone/tablet

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Stathis, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. Stathis

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello!Has anyone used a smartphone or tablet for fpv?I saw recently an adaptor for android devices with av input.Instead using a monitor you can connect your android device with your RX,but I dont know if there is video lag with this setup.
     
  2. Bob Mador

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crete, Greece
    I've seen numerous posts that say you cannot use smartphones/tablets with the Phantom 2 because both devices (smartphone and P2) use the same frequencies (2.4g) and will interfere with each other.

    Basically, the smartphone will cause you to lose control of your Phantom 2.

    I have experienced this personally. But, I was lucky... I would fly with my gopro transmitting to my smartphone and take off. The P2 would fly about 100ft and then go to failsafe and return to the launch point. I had not yet joined this site, nor had I done any google searches on this phenomenon, so I was lucky that in my case the drone didn't fly away or crash to the ground!!
     
  3. Stathis

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello Bob,Yes I know about the problem with 2,4 and wifi,but I mean using a 5,8 ghz fpv setup and instead of a monitor use a tablet with a/v input adaptor
     
  4. Bob Mador

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crete, Greece
    Ah :) sorry for the misunderstanding. Now that you mention that, I do recall seeing something like that. I don't know if there would be lag though. Hopefully someone else will have experience with it and can answer your question.
     
  5. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    It would have to be a box that would be able to work on 5.8gHz and have some sort of AV out, via cable, to a tablet. If this box would use 2.4gHz to send video to a tablet you would risk losing control of your quad.
     
  6. Stathis

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello kenjancef!I found on the net an adaptor to connect with cable the 5,8 ghz receiver with your phone tablet no wifi or 2,4 ghz
     
  7. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Link?? I'm sure others would want to see it too...
     
  8. Stathis

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    Easycap usb.
     
  9. Stathis

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    6
    I dont know if there is video lag,because with our monitors we dont have this problem.
     

    Attached Files: