Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

P3P won't take pictures or video

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Mavado, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    proud owner of a Phantom 3 Pro. Love it had many wonderful flight and a lot of great imagery.

    Updated my iPhone SE to DJI Go 2.8.7. Now my rig won't take any pictures or video. System flys perfectly. Same range. Lightbridge (live view) perfect.

    Just won't capture imagery.
    When I press either trigger, (controller or in-app) an animation spins around the in-app shutter button, the aerial feed goes black and then the DJI logo appears. Everything resets and live feed returns. No picture or video was recorded.

    What I've tried so far.
    Restart controller - no change
    Restart P3P - no change
    Formatted micro sd card (in the bird) - no change
    Deleted and reinstalled 2.8.7 - no change
    Used a different micro sd card - no change
    Use iPad 2 with DJI Go 2.8.7 app - same issue.
    Verified most current firmware

    Anybody having the same issue?
     
  2. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    You said you verified most of the FW. What FW is on the bird and have you tried another USB cord? Do you have the hardware decoder in the app turned on?
     
    #2 Blue Bird, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  3. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    138
    Mine did the exact same thing. Uninstall and reinstall the app, then format the SD card from the app while the SD card is in the phantom.
    This fixed my issue immediately.

    Sent from my HTC6535LVW using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't remember what version I am running currently. I went to the DJI download site. Looked at the date of the last FW. I had updated since then. Assumption on my part. I'll figure out how to verify it.
     
  5. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    If you can open the Go App and go to the about section, then you should see what current FW you have. Just be sure everything is powered up.
     
  6. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just did exactly what you said, word for word, step by step. Still not capturing images.
     
  7. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Have you tried leaving the SD card out and try just for the sake of it.
    Normally the app will tell you no SD card inserted. Or does it still do the same as you stated in your first post?
     
  8. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Controller is 1.6.0
    Aircraft is 1.9.6
    Go app is 2.8.7
     
  9. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    When I remove the SD card it says "no SD card".
     
  10. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    So, with the card out and taking a test picture, you get a pop up saying no SD Card inserted? Or are you referring to just the status on the main screen of the app no sd card?
    I am trying to help you narrow down the issue of possible cause by process of elimination.
     
  11. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate any and all suggestions.
    With the SD card out, I see "no SD card" warning. The in app shutter button is "greyed out" and not active.

    With the SD card in the P3P everything looks good. I press the shutter button and nothing happens, well things happen but not good things. Animation around the shutter button, no live feed them "DJI" logo appears in the middle of the black screen.
     
  12. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Interesting. You said that all was working fine before before the update of the Go app. Umm? Just curious if you have updated your IOS on your IPhone recently or possibly some conflict with the go app and IOS FW version. Do you have another device you can use to test with?
     
  13. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just looking at the iPhone update. I am currently running 9.3.1
    There is an update available: 9.3.4
    Guess I'll try that next.

    I pried the iPad 2 from my daughters fingers. It has the DJI Go app installed too. Updated to 2.8.7. Same issue. iOS version 9.3.2.
     
  14. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Ok, well there is one last thing you can try and that is to downgrade the FW on the AC. If that does not work, then there could be a problem with the video logic board. That is the main board with the SD card reader in it above the gimbal and camera. Be sure to check for loose connections in that location.
    It is possible that it could have been a coincidence that it just started to have the problem. When was the last time you flew befor you updated the app?
     
  15. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated iOS...same issue.

    Down grade the FW? How?
    Is there any way to install the previous DJI Go app? Verify whether it's software or a hardware issue.

    i do get a live feed when the AC is on. Tells me the camera is ok, processing is ok and transmission is ok. Could something have come loose regarding the SD card reader? AC reads the SD card as empty. So I moved a picture from my laptop on to the SD card. The card was formatted recently. SD card ---> AC. Tried to see the uploaded picture via the Go app. Nothing.

    Thoughts?
     
  16. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Unfortunately On IOS, it is difficult to downgrade the app, however to downgrade the AC, you just have to download the previous FW from the DJI site, unzip and place the bin file in the root directory of the SD card. Version 1.8.80. Power up the AC and the downgrade should start. If nothing happens, then there could be a problem with the reader.
     
  17. Mavado

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update:
    A fellow coworker has a P3P. He allowed me to remove his gimbal/camera assembly. I installed on my P3P. Low and behold, it worked. His gimbal/camera captured video and stills.
    SO, now I have to buy a new (gently used) gimbal board.
    Any suggestions?