Normal behaviour?

Reaction score
I have been flying UAVs for about 4 years now, purely as a hobby. This was way before the likes of Litchi and AutoPilot were released. I own both apps and have spent many hours boning up on the various means of planning and flying pre-programmed flights. But I have always flown manually and have spent many hours and days getting to feel of the responses of the aircraft to my stick inputs. Then today, I decided to give the Litchi app a test flight. I defined a very local set of waypoints around one of our meadows. Nothing ambitious in terms of height and speed with just one defined POI. Having initiated the flight sequence, it felt odd to see the phantom move away without any input from me. The first flight performed without a hitch, with a very stable flight . On landing I launched to same flight again, interested to see if the video recording would be identical to the first ( I'm planning a landscape video showing the changing seasons over a year). Although the phantom flew the waypoints in exactly the same manner, what I did notice at several points in the flight was a sudden but brief change in the prop speeds and, at the same time, a small but noticeable increase/decrease in altitude. This didn't occur during the first flight and my finger was paused on the flight switch to take control. But all seemed fine. My question is really, is this sudden and erratic increase of prop speed and small change in altitude, normal behaviour for an auto flight or does suggest an underlying problem

Was there a gust of wind?

Reactions: Steve7777