Noob question

Reaction score
Sorry for asking a stupid question but I'm new to flying drones... Would you normaly always fly the drone with the back of the craft facing you? Only got one for Christmas every time I move the craft round obviously the controls are all in different directions and it always ends badly [emoji24] im trying to get used to moving the front around.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

You will get used to it eventually. Just practice in wide open spaces for now if you can. That way if you 'zig' instead of 'zag' it won't end badly. Those Phantom-Magnet trees are everywhere. [emoji3] Good Luck- Fly Safe!

...and no there are NO stupid questions. We were all beginners at one time or another....

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots

You have to get used to orientation, practice and then practice again, learn to fly circles, and then a figure of eight.
No you do not normally fly the craft with the back facing you.
After you have done all the practicing, then practice some more, eventually it becomes a more manageable skill.

i highly recommend that you get a beater drone under.5lbs if you haven't flown them before (blade 180qx is what I started on crappy camera great water resistant ish drone)

Then when you get a little better, set your aircraft to "Home Lock" which makes your controls relative to YOU rather than to the aircraft. That way, no matter which way your bird is pointing, pushing your right stick up pushes the bird away, and pulling it to you brings the bird closer, with right and left equaling right and left.

Reactions: eaglegoaltender