Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No Gimbal action after firmware update

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by zinkracer, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was afraid this would happen.

    I have a P2 with the H3-3D gimbal. After installing the 3.08 upgrade and all the other ones, my gimbal is no longer functioning.

    I'll bet I'm not the first to have this problem. Appreciate advice from anyone who knows how to fix it.

    Thanks,

    John Gaither
     
  2. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Explain further, not doing the start up dance (IMU initialization)? Ie: never moving.

    Or doing the first initial movements, but will not tilt when using lever/or dial?
     
  3. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    By "no longer functioning", do you mean that it stays level, but doesn't pitch up and down when you want it to?
    If so, that's a control issue that's already covered in the P2V+ forum: the control is now relative instead of absolute, and the pitch control needs to be calibrated with the latest RC assistant.
    (No, you can't undo the update.)
     
  4. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. It is not responding to anything. Just hangs there like it isn't on - but clearly there is power to the camera.
     
  5. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not doing the startup dance any longer.
     
  6. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    First check and confirm gray cable is plugged in back of gimbal. Unplug and reseat just to eliminate bad connection.

    Plug phantom into computer and run Phantom Assistant. Post a screen shot here of the update screen showing all your hardware and its current firmware.

    You might have to do a factory reset depending on what is seen in updates page. I'll let you know once I see your screen shot.


    How to Reset a H3-3D Gimbal when bricked or faileā€¦: http://youtu.be/knVigBCbVzU


    How to factory reset your DJI Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal: http://youtu.be/qoy_S6TNX4o
     
  7. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Screen shot is attached. Thanks for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Did you reset the gray cable to Zenmuse before this screen shot?

    If so you are going to be forced to do the factory reset, since it is not seen in the list of equipment.

    Watch the videos. Perform the task. Once it is seen in hardware you can then upgrade its firmware to a current version.
     
  9. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Notice mine has H3-3D IMU and yours does not.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK !! That fixed it. Really appreciate your help. A shame this happens to start with and further shame on DJI that we have to depend on ourselves for these fixes when their own sites ought to have this information. Perhaps I looked in the wrong places on DJI, but I couldn't find one.

    Again, many thanks for your expertise!!

    John Gaither
     
  11. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    We unfortunately are their beta testers, technical support, customer support and sales associates. All for free, that makes them smart and us a bunch of dumb a$$3$.

    Glad to hear its up and running ;)
     
  12. zinkracer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good points!
     
  13. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    What fixed it? Your response may be a few messages below the one with the working vix.