Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No Fly Zone Override

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brianrmartin, Dec 28, 2015.

  1. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    Ok so we took a trip for my birthday so that I could fly my P3P. I go to crank it up and it's a no fly zone because of an airport. I talked to tower and they are cool with me flying below 200 MGL but the bird won't start. I had heard that DJI had modified the app to allow overrides but can't figure out how to do it. Has the override been released? If so, how do I get to it?

    Thanks in advance

    Brian ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1451317819.469824.jpg
     
  2. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I remember reading (take that for what you paid for it) as well about the "Over Ride" but that isn't something that has come down the pipes yet that I am aware of. It should be something that came down WITH the restrictions but I haven't seen it yet.

    Hopefully soon?
     
  3. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    Touch anywhere on the screen. It goes away.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  4. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    Gonna try that. If it works, I'll feel like a dumbass. Thanks
     
  5. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    Ok so it won't fly there. I had to move outside the circle.
     
  6. brianrmartin

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Pasadena, TX
    If I try to take off it says that I can't take off in a no fly zone. If I am flying nearby and I get close it says Warning Collision and the Restricted Area alert flashes up.
     
  7. DrJoe

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    96
    As a commercial operator, I was hoping DJI would allow a pathway for turning off the restrictions asap.
    Supposedly you give your credit card as proof of who you are and they will give you a code to turn the restrictions down. I have not heard of this yet being active, and I haven't had time to call DJI customer service yet.
    I'd imagine this will all come out when the DJI GEO system is implemented, which was due late December but has been pushed back
    Good video: