Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Newbie set up problems

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by DrSynfeef, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. DrSynfeef

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    Bought a new and boxed Phantom 2 Vision plus yesterday, going through the set up at home, i have the app on my iPhone 4s for the camera etc...
    Went to my phones Wifi, can only see Phantom_****** no other networks. Try to connect to it and it wont happen at all.
    I know this is the SSID for the range extender but not seeing anything for the camera.
    I do eventually connect to the Range extender, load up the app, open the camera menu and nothing shows up, then the wifi drops off.

    I've tried resetting the R-ext and binding using the QR Code on the body, felt like i connected better to the extender when it was waiting to be binded than after i'd scanned the QR code as it dropped off soon after and i'm back to square one.

    I doubt it but is there anything i've missed during set up to power the camera wifi on?
    Could something have not been plugged in by the factory?

    Please help :)

    Best regards,
    Rob
     
  2. Catalina36

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    This might sound like a dumb question but you didn't mention it in your post. You are turning on the battery in the Pantom when doing this test right? That is where the camera gets power from. As for the wifi dropping off, I had this issue with my Galaxy Note 3. If I put it in Airplane mode and then turn on the wifi the issues with losing the wifi connection went away completely.
     
  3. DrSynfeef

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes haha, all units were powered up at the time. I was using the 4S in airplane mode with just the wifi on.
    It did all work for about 10 seconds but now nothing, probably going to return it as a faulty unit.
     
  4. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I have a Droid phone but I'm sure Apple has something similar to the "Smart network switch" which will disconnect from the Phantom network and connect to what the phone thinks is a "better" WiFi network. Turn that off.

    You also said, "Try to connect to it and it wont happen at all" but then "I do eventually connect to the Range extender". Which is it? Can you connect to the Phantom network?

    Have you fully charged the range extender?
     
  5. dezunka

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also... go to the "Settings" on the DJI phone app and change your preview settings to 320 15fps instead of 640 30fps or 640 15 fps. My phone usually displays a black screen for the camera if the preview settings are too high.

    And... if you have a home network that your phone is paired with - I would turn off your home network to prevent it from trying to take over the Wifi connection. You could try going into your phone's Wifi settings make sure that you bump the Phantom up to a higher priority level on the Wifi connections list as well.