New Pilot...need some help

Reaction score
Hello,

Forgive me as this is my first foray into the UAV realm and I'm a complete newb.

I got an FC40 and I've checked and re checked everything from props > software > IMU > calibration and I just can't get a clean flight.

The moment I get it off the ground smoothly and want the GPS to take over for a hoover it goes into a massive death wobble and just comes down.

Any thoughts or some help would be completely welcome as I haven't been able to enjoy a nice flying time to get acquainted with RC flying.

Thanks

kevnob said:
Hello,

Forgive me as this is my first foray into the UAV realm and I'm a complete newb.

I got an FC40 and I've checked and re checked everything from props > software > IMU > calibration and I just can't get a clean flight.

The moment I get it off the ground smoothly and want the GPS to take over for a hoover it goes into a massive death wobble and just comes down.

Any thoughts or some help would be completely welcome as I haven't been able to enjoy a nice flying time to get acquainted with RC flying.

Thanks

Are you doing the Compass Calibration ? Keep away from metal surfaces, or any interference signals in open field.
Phantom locks satellites fine (Just Green lights before take off) ?

kevnob said:
I did the calibration but before take off I get one green light then 4 red.... ?

Oppss, thats bad. Your phantom is not getting enough satellites (+6)
Before take off you must wait for 1 GREEN only or 1 GREEN and just 1 RED. Then phantom will blink 20 GREEN blinks. thats the moment for take off.

jumanoc said:
kevnob said:
I did the calibration but before take off I get one green light then 4 red.... ?

Before take off you must wait for 1 GREEN only or 1 GREEN and just 1 RED. Then phantom will blink 20 GREEN blinks. thats the moment for take off.

Well dang! that REALLY helps.. Thanks!

How long does that usually take ? I was in a really open field

kevnob said:
jumanoc said:
kevnob said: