Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My new record 5.1 km

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by saao, Jan 24, 2015.

  1. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. terrylowe

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS USA
    That is a looooooong flight. I don't know if there are many people who have flown that far to experience that problem. You may have to do it again to see if the problem is reproducible.
    I looked at your flytrex site. You have gone 47mph with your quad? Was it sitting on your car???

    What kind of set uup are you using to be able to go so far?
     
  3. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hahahaah if u look closely I am on high altitudes so their is no way it can be sitting on a car people have gone way faster here I guess winds give u a bit of a push as well I am using fpvhorizon antennas Amps for 2.4 and 5.8 sunhans
     

    Attached Files:

  4. terrylowe

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS USA
    Thanks for sharing!
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    That's a nice rack of goods right there. Congrats on the distance!



    [​IMG]
     
  6. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank u everyone my concern now is how to measure distance if I Wana go further as the ap says n/a ?
     
  7. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Welcome to the distance flier club.
    Its a issue that i have encountered before.
    It used to be 2km on metric or 20.000ft for imperial before it hits the n/a.
    When i did my record attempts i noticed that from V1.0.54 for android the n/a kicked in on approx 18.000ft.
    So what version on, what device are you using ?

    @terrylowe

    I did a 78,20 mph flight, so its nothing out of the ordinary in high winds and when you catch a wind-gust.
     
  8. terrylowe

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS USA
    :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
     
  9. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    :) ;) :eek: :? :lol: :roll: :ugeek:

    Its not without risk.
    @ that speeds the bird comes back very fast.
    I even lost mine out of sight the last time i did a attempt to improve even that, it overshoot the position i was standing and i didn't notice that.
    Lucky i am familiar with the use of the radar.
    So i knew there was something fishy and prayed that it would make it back in time as it crawled forwards.
    It couldn't descend to have less head wind and it advanced only a 2-3mph.
    Scary moments.
     
  10. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have the latest app on my iPhone 6 plus which I believe updated last night automatically. My flight was 16700 feet and it said n/a
     
  11. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I'll do now is that I have purchased the fpv camera app lets see if it even says n/A or will it show the distance cause I am to scared to use the booster since I have heard terror stories and I really didn't ever use the apps my system goes well anyway no lag or connection issue
     
  12. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the whole idea of making a long range go against the wind so that when ur on ur way back the wind helps in bringing it faster and consuming less battery
     
  13. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    here a screen shot did some work on race render
     

    Attached Files:

  14. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    The showed distance is application related, i guess.
    When i am back in long distance, when the new bird is finished and all test are a 100% i'm going to downgrade a version of the app on the android tablet and see if it gets back to the 20.00ft before it goes to n/a.
     
  16. mede8er

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Screenshot V3.0....Set to 20,000

    [​IMG]
     
  17. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    With version u mean the version of the bird cause I am using 1.08
     
  18. mede8er

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    4
    No..version 3.0 of Assistant....current version is 3.06 I think....that's the one that limits the distance you can see....
     
  19. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Currently its V3.08 but thats beside the point.
    I also refer to V1.08 as i don't like any further versions.
    I updated the app and then it changed from 20.000ft to 18.000ft or so, could be like saao stated 16.something.
    Its to long ago to recall it exactly and @ the time i noticed it was already on n/a cause i didn't expect it.
     
  20. saao

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    well what if we use the new fpv booster camera appp i have bought it not yet tested may be that will help?