Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mounting Flytrex 3G Live

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by rcarlin, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. rcarlin

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    I'm wondering how/where people are mounting a Flytrex live on their Non-Vision. I have seen a few photos of it mounted in Vison's, but on my P2 I have a gimbal, IOSD Mini and a Vtx; that does not leave much room for much else. I know could relocate the IOSD inside the hull, but even then it still looks to me like there would not be enough room? I'm very new to all this, so forgive me if this has been covered or is simply a dumb question :)

    Regards
     
  2. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
  3. rcarlin

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    That looks like a good solution. Let us know how it works out :)

    Thank you.
     
  4. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I'm using the mount that SteveMann linked to. It's 5g and provides for a relatively clean install IMO.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    On mine, I'll add a gram as I Ty-wrap the mount to the Phantom's legs.
     
  6. Navman

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Steve, what carrier service plan did you go with on the flytrex?

    I'm with Verizon and in this neck of Oregon, T-Mobile doesn't provide the best of coverage.

    Just curious as I have a flytrex on the way.
     
  7. Rustynuts

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CB Oregon
    An man, I am also in Oregon and I went with the H2O pay per minute card, $10 worth is good for 90 days. I have been using about .30 cents per flight. The H2o card uses the ATT network and even being on the coast I have great coverage.
     
  8. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    I mounted the transmitter inside, module side to vent for cooling. I can still change switch settings if needed through the gimbal hole. Made enough room to mount Flytrex on the belly.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Zoeconner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have wide landing gear so I cant use the holder. What about taking the case off the flytrex and putting in inside. Any thoughts? I really want a clean look of my phantom. All my fpv are already mounted on the outside.
     
  10. Navman

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve, all of our phones are Verizon so I guess that leaves H20/AT&T out.

    Guess I need to find a cheap data plan that works with Verizon, Page Plus?

     
  11. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I'm a bit confused with your statement, even if all of your phones are Verizon you can still get an H2O micro sim card. If AT&T has good coverage in your area I'd recommend the H2O. I have Verizon for my family's cell phones, but H2O had the best cost benefit with its $10 prepaid cell service card.