Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loosing radio connection

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Rickesco, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    Hey Guys,

    Ran into an issue the last couple of weeks regarding loosing connection. I was out to 1200 feet and my screen gave me the error that it lost connection and is returning home. This happened every time I went out passed 1000feet. I tried the same flight path with my Vision Plus and didn't get that. Any idea what could be causing it?. I had fresh batteries on both the Phantom and radio

    I appreciate your comments/suggestions.

    Rick
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    How ya got your TX antenna positioned ? It should be at a angle pointing towards your bird .
     
  3. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    Thanks, It was. I had the antenna in the same position on both radios..
     
  4. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    When you lose Connection is it the 5.8 or the FPV you lose ?
    Do you still have FPV when it goes to RTM and see it or does that go out and then go into RTH ?
     
  5. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    Guess when "screen gave me the error that it lost connection and is returning home" ;)
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Still not saying which is going first . I have lost 5.8 and watch it in FPV turn around and start back
    But when I lose 2.4 I still see RTM but no FPV till I get it back .
    Just trying to see if he's problem is with extender or TX ! :confused:
     
  7. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    I loose the tx connection. FPV is still on. Never loose the FPV. The phantom jerks then turns around and comes back.
     
  8. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well ya not going to get what the plus does with just the vision unless ya move up to the RE700 . Now have ya ever gotten more distance out of it than that ?
     
  9. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    Yes, I've had it up to 1500 ft. and I upgraded to the RE700 a while back..
     
  10. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Maybe you have changed something in your app maybe like Preview Quality or were ya flying now has to much noise .
    I find my distance varies just in the way I aim some days .
    Have you tried flying in a different spot or are you in the same place every time ?
     
  11. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    You know they did add a cell tower close by, maybe that's got something to do with it. I'm going to try another place this weekend. Thanks for your assistance..
     
  12. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Good luck to you and do tell what you find ! ;)
     
  13. Nilo80

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has been the same. I rarely get over 1300 feet before I start to lose connection between phantom and the controller. I'm almost always flying in wide open spaces. Dissapointed in that distance so will be doing the stage 2 mod at some point soon. What should distance be with the stock antennas?
     
  14. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Depends on if ya have a Vision or a plus and ya don't have that in your signature ;)
    On my Vision all I gout was about 1500' more or less depending on all the variable's and that was just stock and I immediately started doing mod's as I want distance .
    As for the Plus I really can't say as I don't have one ;)
     
  15. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    I also have the Vision Plus with the Antenna mods and I have gone almost a mile, but this Vision is stock and the most I have gotten is about 1300 feet. I don't know what the limits are I can't seem to find that answer anywhere.
     
  16. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    And I don't think you will ! It differs from one spot to the next .
    Book might say you can go say 1500' but I might can get 1800' and you only get 1100' .
    Just depends on a lot of variables bro .
     
  17. Rickesco

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, California
    Yep, A lot of things to consider. I moved to a different area and I was able to get it up to 1300ft. May the new cell tower was screwing me up.

    Thanks guys, I appreciate everyone comments.

    Rick
     
  18. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,627
    Likes Received:
    5,694
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well I hope it helped ya understand Rickesco but now I think I'm confused :confused:;) tip jar.png
    just kidding.jpg ;);)
     
    Cyclone likes this.