Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi disconnected and P4 didn't RTH????

Discussion in 'Phantom 4 Discussion' started by RUNUM, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. RUNUM

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my second time using the Litchi ap I lost connection at about 2000ft. The bird did not return to home automatically or after pushing the RTH button on the remote. Luckily I was able to hop into my truck and track it down until I got signal and bring it back. Anyone else have this problem? The ap was set to RTH if disconnected. Now I am afraid to use Litchi....
     
  2. CThruU

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Were you flying a waypoint mission? If you lost RC connection, the RTH button will not initiate as it cannot communicate.

    Some info on that topic here:

    Litchi Waypoint Mission -- a couple of scary experiences that have made me much more weary!
     
  3. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    If you are flying a waypoint mission it isn't supposed to RTH when you lose contact. It completes the programmed mission. If you are out of RC range you can't send an RTH command to the bird.

     
  4. RUNUM

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was not flying a mission. Just free flying. Any tips on what to do if this happens again?
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Interesting I've never manually flown with Litchi. I use it exclusively for waypoint missions & use Go for manual flight. Message the author on the Litchi FakeBook page. He's very responsive.

     
  6. Helihover

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    348
    Location:
    Oregon
    I've gone beyond range before on litchi and had no issue. Make sure your RTH settings are set to come home if the signal is lost. Default is hover, so if you never changed that in the GO app, there's your problem.
     
  7. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    132
    Beware settings might be reset to Default when upgrading firmware/software. Good practice is to review them after update.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Pharm likes this.
  8. SoundByte

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    32
    The OP already indicated what his settings were. There has to be another explanation.
     
  9. fastfed

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    163
    there are options for RTH with Litchi, I only use Litchi, never use the goapp ever since seeing how powerful Litchi is. Since you drove in your truck to get it, I assume it was just sitting hovering, a feature for Litchi under RTH options. I think Land,RTH and hover are the options.
    if it was showing RTH , it obviously wasn't set, reset it and make sure its applied.
     
  10. DigitalSkyPilot

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan
    When I use Litchi I force stop the Go app. If I switch back to the Go app do I have to force stop litchi?
     
  11. DanMan32

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    217
    The AC might not have lost connection to the RC even though obviously the RC did lose connection with the AC both video and telemetry. This happened to me this weekend where I waited 4 minutes when low battery RTH kicked in. Checking flight log on tablet and AC, app says no signal, AC never showed signal loss. You might have been able to blindly bring it back closer or higher or engage RTH.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Litchi disconnected didn't Forum Date
Newly installed Litchi: "DISCONNECTED" What?! Pro/Adv Discussion Mar 19, 2017
Litchi: What functionality is unavailable when disconnected from RC? Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Feb 26, 2017
P3A disconnected with litchi and DJI Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 2, 2016
Litchi Problem - shows disconnected but it is connected Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 2, 2016
4k Question about "Disconnected" on Litchi Phantom 3 Help Sep 18, 2016