Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Hyperion Double Rhombic Antenna

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by eko.saputra, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. eko.saputra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just bought a new Hyperion double rhombic today, some questions I wanna ask to.
    I'm using P3S now. Have been doing some tests. In a wide open area, the furthest range I ever got in stock only 300m (984ft) and 120m (393) alt. After that, RTH kicked down. :(

    1. Is this tx or rx antenna?
    2. Should I install the rx (if it tx) also onto my bird?
    3. Would it make double range distances to my bird?
    4. Has anyone here ever tried and used it? What about the result?

    Thank you. :)

    P_20160831_114323_1_p.jpg
     
    #1 eko.saputra, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Hello & welcome.

    That is marked 5.8. On the P3S the 5.8 is the control and the 2.4 x 2 is the video.

    You really need to do both frequencies to make it worth it. You will have to do some surgery to the TX to do this. Also some additional cables. If you have never done this before I would get a kit and be sure you know what your doing before you attempt it. There are $36 USD eBay kits with everything. You need 3 antennas or a panel that incorporates all three.

    Check to be sure the TX setting have the height limit set to max as it is defaulted lower.
     
  3. eko.saputra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your answer LuvMyTj.

    I already watched some videos about modding the TX.
    I also have RP-SMA to uFL cable.
    Can I replacing 5.8 antenna only while for the 2.4 video, i'm still using the stock antenna?

    Thank you.. :)
     
  4. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Yes, they are all independent. There are 3 connections on the board.
    You could use that for the 5.8 control antenna and just leave the stock 2 video antennas as they are.
     
  5. eko.saputra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great.
    So I don't need any rx on my P3S, right? :)
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    If you use the same frequencies (5.8 and 2.4) you won't need to and anything to the quad.