Hello from Jervis Bay Australia

Reaction score
Hi All, I am a completely new pilot never did any RC flying as a kid but did do some light engine and gliders in the ATC. I’m an ex Air Force brat (RCAF) and grew up in England, Canada and Germany, I was talking to a work colleague about buying a drone for work and play, but he beat me to it and
bought a new Mavic which introduced me to DJI. I bought a lightly used P4 on eBay as it had extra batteries etc and have put 20 hours on it in 6 weeks. I take it in the car all the time in case the opportunity to fly comes up. I just had my first crash (hit a tree at 70kmh) so have just done my first re shell! I’m pretty annoyed about the crash as I was getting really good at flying through very tight spaces (the phantom is incredibly stable) but I mis judged the gap between two trees.
Thanks for listening!
Cheers Bill

Reactions: dirkclod
Welcome to the forum .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .
0rojyyg-png.95983

Welcome to Phantom Pilots! :)

Welcome mate - excellent bunch of very capable often amusingly opinionated folk on here (from around the world). Enjoy

Hi Bill ,we spent two weeks in Currarong a few months back .
The area would be great to fly with a Phantom but the whole Jervis Bay Area looked like a no fly zone due to the naval base so I took a mountain bike instead I just had to make sure I stayed on the designated tracks due to danger of unexploded ordinance ,radiation ,lasers ,quicksand and giant tarantulas so the signs said .:)

Welcome to Phantom Pilots from Dayton Ohio USA, Enjoy that P4, Fly safe and have fun!

Hello,
It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum.
I hope that you will be able to use the forum to further your safety knowledge and for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in DJI quadcopters.