Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

GPS Module - Large Antenna (4mm)

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Mods' started by turbopbw, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. turbopbw

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a basic comparision of the stock GPS ceramic antenna to a larger 4mm antenna. I have read several post about this antenna but never seen any results.

    I ordered three of the Taoglas GP.1575.25.4.A.02 from Digikey.com, it looks to be -3.5 db. Also I ordered a new GPS module to ensure a good comparison (ouch $175)!

    The installation of the new stock GPS module is just plug and play. In the kitchen of my house I would receive a solid six satellites on average of 80 seconds. Outside I would receive between seven and nine satellites on the ground, it would jump back and forth. Typically flying outside around my house I have see between ten to twelve.

    Then I took an old GPS module I had and removed the stock ceramic antenna and soldered in the Taoglas. Installation into the phantom shell requires trimming down some of the high ridges in the case. In the kitchen of my house I quickly received six satellites on average of 45 seconds. Outside on the ground it quickly locked in eight satellites then after minute nine.

    The two things I noticed most was the Taoglas locked in quicker and it didn't jump back in forth outside.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Hmm interesting... and only like $6 yeah ?
    Any pics of the bits you need to solder ?? Just want to see if its a job i'd be able to do.. I can do basic soldering... provided the area is large enough to work in.. e.g I can't solder in joints if they are like a couple of mm apart :(

    I had a look at the data sheet.. looks like might only need to solder the antenna connector ??
    http://www.taoglas.com/images/product_i ... 190410.pdf

    Is the stock antenna held in with just adhesive + solder on the antenna connector ? I can see the toaglas has adhesive to.

    Thanks =)
     
  3. turbopbw

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Just ordered one. Should be about $7 shipped.

    (Does anyone know how to bookmark/subscribe to threads? I don't see the provisions for it as commonly seen on other forums) Read the forum FAQ and its the general directions like other forums)
     
  5. smole

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where from?
     
  6. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
  7. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Wow, ordered it on Sunday and it has arrived! Only went from from North Dakota to Colorado, I like quick shipping! Plan to do some comparison tests, to see the imrpovements.
     
  8. goatman

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    mars
    WOW I must do this to mine, Sometimes I cant get more than 4 - 5 sats in my yard until I raise it up about 60 feet. then I only get about 6-7 and then it flies fine. Untill I bring it down then I lose satts again...

    I will order this from digi key Thanks guys for this great info .. and its only a few bucks!!!
     
  9. phenom3030

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
  10. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Lol I was going to come on saying how quick and easy the install was.... but i'm getting 0 sats lol...
    Either the antenna is damaged or the cable has come lose or something... put the lid on/off 1000 times and cable has never come loose.. soo... anyways will take it all apart again and inspect it all...

    its literally 1 solder, which went very well so not sure whats gone wrong :(

    Ordered a few antenna's so will try anothr.
     
  11. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    cant believe something is scrrwed
    like its literally 1 solder.... can't believe this !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    done mods 10000000000000x harder and no problems.. and now this simple one... ive screwed the gps module..
     
  12. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    Can someone who has done this mod please tell me... should the top of the phantom be heating up ?
    Like should the new antennta make things hear up quite dramatically ??
     
  13. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Well mine never did before or after the mod so best answer would be NO. Something must have gone wrong with your mod.
     
  14. droneboby

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
  16. droneboby

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. jwax

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Albany, NY area
    I've mentioned this before, but it is worth noting again:
    Satellites are moving, and the earth is rotating. The number of satellites available to you at any one time changes! Every day! Almost every hour!
    If you detect 8 satellites now, perform an antenna swap (or other mod) and check satellites again, the number of available birds probably changed since your first check.
    Before flying, or checking GPS performance, look at: Location Lookup