Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal idea / question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by myvrodrocks, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    So all these gimbals popping up and none a a available got me thinking. DJI released a new 3 axis that plugs in. Why not use that? Cut the gopro mount away, drill a hole in the vision camera case and bolt it on. No covering of the wi-fi antennas and no need to wait on a $600 mount.
     
  2. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I just received this reply back from DJI :)
     

    Attached Files:

  3. myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Doesn't really answer my question...
     
  4. myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
  5. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    The zenmuse gimbals are factory balanced for the camera unit they are designed to work with. Stick something different on them and they won't be happy and may fail.

    Add to that the fact that the Vision camera cable is rather stiff and designed for a single axis gimbal - I think it would drag against the zenmuse and cause jitter at best.

    The tilt control is dealt with internally on a P2Z, whereas the Vision uses that external servo line to send tilt instructions via the app - not sure how you'd tie that up.

    These are some of the reasons I don't think any future Vision gimbal will be retro-fittable - my guess is that it will come as part of this rumoured Vision 3 or Vision+ - hopefully with a better quality camera as part of the deal...
     
  6. SlackerATX

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It's officially out dji announced yesterday. It actually has an external controller per dji. I honestly don't see why this wouldn't work even if you duct taped the vision camera. (As long as you don't use too much tape)
     
  7. myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    I think that if a brushless motor that is 1/4" in diameter can spin my blade 130x head at 3000 rpm then a 1" brushless motor can handle the 20oz weight difference of an inbalanced camera.
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    But a brushless gimbal motor is different to a brushless flight motor. I'm banging my head firmly against the ceiling of my technical pay grade, but as far as I understand it gimbal motors are internally wound in a completely different way to flight motors to get the smooth slow movement and required torque for the application we're talking about here.
     
  9. myvrodrocks

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Might be than a matter of getting it balanced...