Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying without the GoPro

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by pFrenchie, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. pFrenchie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    I'm looking into buying a Phantom 2 with the H3-3D gimbal. Apparently flying with the gimabal installed but without a GoPro is a big no-no. How easy is it to remove the gimbal (maybe just leaving the upper damping plate on)? Does the bottom part just click into place? Or, once installed, do you ALWAYS need a GoPro to fly?

    Thanks.
     
  2. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Real easy, just remove the plastic safeties then pop the gimbal from the rubber shock mounts. (Be sure to unplug the gimbal first).
    Recalibrate the compass because the missing camera and gimbal will throw it out of calibration.

    To put the gimbal and camera back on, just squeeze the rubber mounts back into the baseplate and attach new safeties. The plastic pins that come with the H3-3D are one-time only, so I just use a loose Ty-wrap. The purpose of the safety is to keep the gimbal attached in case of a hard landing.
    Be sure to calibrate the compass again after reinstalling the gimbal and camera.

    [vimeo]116224716[/vimeo]
     
  3. pFrenchie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the swift reply, I put my order in earlier today. Can't wait to fly!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Flying without GoPro Forum Date
Flying without the GoPro Phantom 2 Discussion May 19, 2014
Flying without GoPro battery?? Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal May 13, 2014
P2V+ Flying without Camera/Gimble & WI FI Extender Phantom 2 Vision + Help Apr 24, 2017
Flying the P3s without a camera Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 18, 2017
Flying without Permission UK Guidance Rules and Regulations Mar 15, 2017