Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flashing green red lights

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Jim1, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I replaced an esc , motor, and shell following minor crash. Now after warm-up my phantom displays a single green flash followed by 3 red flashes. The motors do spin up. the camera and gimble are working. The battery is good. Any ideas on what is wrong?
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    does the motor spin the correct way ?

    in the assistant under upgrades, what GPS version and loader have you got ?
     
  3. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Symptom (after a crash): 1 Green flash= GPS flight mode- followed by 3 Red flashes= <5 Sats.

    Diagnosis: Cracked GPS patch antenna.

    Treatment: Replace GPS antenna= <$10 US but need solder skills.
    No solder skills= $160 US for new GPS PCB assembly, used= $?.?? US on Ebay, etc. if available.

    Prognosis: Full recovery

    Do nothing: Will fly fine in Atti. or Manual flight mode(s).
     
    #3 N017RW, Sep 26, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015
  4. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for the info guys. I'll take a look at the patch antenna. That's the one under the top she'll?
     
  5. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    whats assistant say ?
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Yup.
     
  7. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Assistant shows zero gps. Hopefully I just pulled a wire loose when I swapped it to the new she'll. I'll remove the top and check it out. Thanks again
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Sorry Jim1, but it won't allow the motors to start with no GPS cable connected or if the entire module is 'dead'.
    What good are no-fly zones if that's all you had to do?


    I stand by my diagnosis.

    Good Luck.
     
    #8 N017RW, Sep 26, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2015
    robsquad likes this.
  9. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    If the patch antenna is cracked it looks like a $5.00 part and a simple solder job. I assume that rth will not work if I fly without the gps. Is this correct?
     
  10. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Correct.

    You're getting the hang of it!
     
  11. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Hmm. Pulled the antenna and it looks sound. No cracks
     
  12. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Well, sorry.

    If true and it's just not detectable...

    You're the 0.1 in 99.9%.

    That's why they call it 'practicing' medicine.
     
  13. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm going to replace it anyway. It maybe internal. I'll try the $5 part before the $$ one
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    A cracked antenna will still let you start motors and take-off. It may/may not acquire satellites.
    A dead gps module will not let you start motors.
     
  15. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Good to know. I'm looking for a new antenna tonight
     
  16. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
  17. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    That's the one I ordered. Can't wait till it gets here.
     
  18. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I installed the new 4mm patch antennae and tested with the top shell off. Had 6 satellites. I was unable to calibrate the compass so I followed the instructions for de gaussing the compass and resolved that issue. Now I see no satellites and the DJI app says Ok to fly but no gps. The lights are slow flashing yellow. The motors will not start. I'm now suspecting the gps unit itself. Is there a way to test this before I shell out the big bucks for a replacement? I have a multimeter. All help is greatly appreciated.

    Just noticed that the Vision Assistant program shows all zeros for the GPS in the upgrade tab!
     
    #18 Jim1, Oct 5, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2015
  19. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yellow means no communication with controller/loss off controller/failsafe.

    Plug into Phantom assist. Turn on controller and move the yaw sticks and check if camera moves left to right.
    If still flashing yellow, rebind controller and recalibrate the sticks in RC12
    If that fails then you may have a damaged receiver board.
     
  20. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    i thought fast flash yellow was failsafe ?