Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Esc status error??

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by t2adze, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hey guys

    Was flying today. 2nd or 3rd fly after firmware update.

    Flew fine. Landed. Changed the battery. And when tried to take off with the second battery it gave me this error attached in a photo.

    I put in the first battery back and the same thing.
    P3a never crashed.
    Just had an issue while updating to new firmware on first try. But finlly installed successfully.

    Help pllzz
     

    Attached Files:

  2. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Might be worth using the chat support at DJI and see what they say.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Seems to be problem with at least one motor. Was landing clean? Do you see any motor stuck when you power them on?

    Inspect the motors minutely, blow pressurized air to clean them from any debris and check again. If you get the error again, contact DJI service.
     
  4. t2adze

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    39
    It was a hand catch as always.
    How do you think is rolling back to 1.7 worth a try?
     
  5. Jsun

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    I have just joined the "ESC Status Error" club! :mad::( No issues during the early morning flight, but the flight a couple of hour later trowed this error. And of course this is happening during my first couple of days in my holiday abroad (Denmark)!
     
  6. gringorio

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I experienced a similar situation so I called DJI and got a repair ticket. I returned the P3P and it was back in my hands 10 days later. The bill (covered under warranty) said they replaced a bad motor. My P3P is flying fine now.

    It is strange how one flight everything seems ok, the the next flight the error shows up, even without any previous or obvious symptoms.
     
  7. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    No. It typically isn't a firmware issue. It's usually a bad motor, bad connection or debris in the motor. The latter is very common. It doesn't take much.
     
  8. Jsun

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Agree. Was trying to think trough if I could have done anything wrong, but nothing comes to mind. I was flying in some heavy wind, but I hardly believe that is the cause. The P3 handles wind impressively well btw.

    The bird was sent to the vendor/store, and was returned in under 24 hour. Interesting to know if it's repaired or exchanged in a new one, still in the mail o_O Claimed warranty on some cracks in the RC also, so my guess is a whole new kit :D
     
  9. almustafa

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is their any diagnostics that can tell if one motor is not performing and should be replaced.? When I land I hear an odd noise coming from one of the motors and I can not tell from which one. I would rather replace a single motor now than risk having a motor fail mid flight. I spin the props when I have shut down to see if one doesn't feel right, but there seems to be some friction in all of them so I am guessing that they are not supposed to spin without any resistance. And is it a fairly simple procedure to swap out a motor if I have to?
     
  10. AeroVisionz

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Perth Western Australia
    I am experiencing the exact same thing. Upgraded today from firmware ver 1.8.80 to 1.9.60 Flew 2 batts without any probs at all. I landed on the ground with the first battery and hand caught with the second. Inserted the third battery and the ESC status error popped up when trying to fire up the bird.