Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does your gimble buzz when not in use?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by atag012, May 2, 2014.

  1. atag012

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got my baby in the mail this morning, currently waiting for the wifi extender to fully charge (been charging for 2 hrs, is a full charge really necessary or can i just go?) but I was checking out the gimble and how it works with the phantom on and I noticed a buzzing sound coming from the gimble even when not in use. Just wondering if this is normal or not, thanks.
     
  2. Jayson Hanes

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida USA
    so you still have the guard in place? the clear plastic shape that holds it all in place? It should be removed when the phantom is on and ready to fly.
     
  3. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Make sure you have removed the gimbal clamp and the lens cap. Is it still buzzing?
     
  4. atag012

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0

    The lens cap and gimbal clamp were always taken off before turning it on. Maybe I am over thinking this, mind you it is not a loud buzz, when I take a couple steps back you cannot hear it but up close it is noticeable.
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I have noticed mine buzz or hum a little on occasion so its probably nothing to worry about.
     
  6. atag012

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool sounds good, anyone suggest going straight to NAZA mode, sounds like it might be safer with its additional features
     
  7. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I went straight to NAZA mode as soon as I unboxed. There is no reason not to use NAZA mode...just make sure to begin your flights with both S1 & S2 in the Top positions.
     
  8. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Dirty Bird, can you expand more on why you suggest Naza mode over Phantom mode. I'm very new to this and nervous about switching.
     
  9. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Answering my own question. Good description of NAZA mode here:
    http://www.pattayadays.com/2014/03/naza ... -2-vision/
     
  10. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    LOL I see you found the same think that made me decide to use NAZA mode. :D