Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Does the P3 Standard work efficiently with the app?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by TheFaultCraft, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. TheFaultCraft

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been wanting to get my hands on a P3 Standard. But I havent heard anything about its compatability with the DJI GO app. Does the P3 Standard word efficiently with the app, and if so, does the app use mobile data? Also I'd appreciate any input on whether or not the upgrade to a P3 standard is worth the upgrade from a P2 + H3-3D
     
  2. Shimien

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well it works just fine with my standard. I think it more or less works exactly the same as the advanced and the pro with the go app. This is my first real quad but from what I hear this is like an upgraded phantom 2 vision+


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    The Go app is designed to work with a P3 versions.

    I have a P2 Zen and I grabbed a sale on a P3S since it cuts down on all the extra stuff I needed with the P2. I like the fact everything is contained in one tidy package. The Gopro 4 Camera is a little better but the 2.7k looks very nice on my 4K TV. For how cheap it is it's a great deal. I have sooooooo much money tied up in my P2 it makes me throw up a little when I think about it. :D
     
    Dirty Bird and jointeffort like this.
  4. TheFaultCraft

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    So does the app use mobile data then, or does the P3 have built in WiFi?
     
  5. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    No mobile data, the TX is wifi enabled and you connect your device to it. You can cache your maps when connected to the internet prior to flying.
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  6. mikep2323

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    57
    How do you play on tv? I put sd card in a USB reader and always get error. The thumbnails show up but won't play. Thanks


    the 2.7k looks very nice on my 4K TV.
     
  7. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I have a Samsung 4K that has USB3 slots. I convert it from .mov to .mp4 and put that on a card and plug it into the TV.
     
  8. Shimien

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    24
    You can change the recording file type within the app, your tv probably can't play mov files but the MP4 is more universal


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app