Do i need to counter-balance my gimbal?

Reaction score
So i got a gimbal from gadgetsalon on eBay. Mainly because they had a pretty good description of it and that it could be not-too-hard to install. It came with everything in good order. No real problem installing it. I am using the 'extra' power cable from the phantom to power the gimbal. And i connected the supplied camera tilt cable to the phantom. I had to upgrade the Naza software in order to be able to 'enable' the gimbal control. All that went fine. The gimbal seems to balance itself nicely when turned on, and, the tilt control is working. Hooray.

My first flight with the gimbal was short lived due to pilot error and a slow crash into a bush. I took the gimbal off (which required taking apart the phantom to unplug the tilt control cable). So then i decided to make the gimbal more removable and i cut the gimbal control cable and made it a quick-disconnect. I make a couple flights without the gimbal to make sure the phantom is working fine. No problem. But before i did all this i had two messy crashes on take off which may have been cause by me being too nervous to give max throttle on lift off.

I feel like this gimbal is making the phantom a little front-heavy. If i pick up the phantom with the gimbal installed, it is noticeably front heavy. What that means is that i think i need to really 'punch' the throttle fully to get in the air? Is that right? Or, should I be trying to balance the phantom by adding weight towards the rear of the phantom (a spare battery or something)? The gimbal came with a mounting plate that uses the two screws on the bottom of the phantom, and, it also uses the rubber balls. There does not seem to be adjustment potential.

For others with a gimbal, do you have weight issues and flying or takeoff? Is the trick simply to gun it when taking off? Anyone esle using the gadgetsalon gimbal (or happy whatever its called).