Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom Retracts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by guitarplayer08, May 3, 2014.

  1. guitarplayer08

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm a new member here and a first gen Phantom user. I am new to the whole RC Drone world but I'd like to build a retractable landing gear for my phantom using this:

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=23483

    The thing that I'm not sure of is where would I plug the pin cable into the naza-m? F1 and F2? Right now I am using F2 for my gimbal tilt using the lever on the bottom of my SR6 radio.

    I'd appreciate some suggestion wheter this can or cant be done

    Thank you
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You won't be able to use the retracts AND control your gimbal, the Phantom only has enough channels for one or the other. If you decide to give up the pitch control on the gimbal, you'll need to get a servo cable Y-connector to connect both leads from the retracts to the F2 port on the NAZA.
     
  3. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Is there any way to use the S2 IOC channels?
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I've never seen any way to pass the S2 switch through to the output ports on the NAZA.
     
  5. guitarplayer08

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about using the F1 channel? The NAZA manual says F1 is for the gimbal roll and F2 is for the gimbal pitch. If I'm using only the gimbal pitch (F2), shouldn't I be able to use the open F1? But again I'm pretty new at these stuff so I might be wrong :?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Guitarplayer, that's what 2trickpony was asking about above...but unfortunately there's no way to pass control from your Transmitter out through the F1 port on the NAZA. The port will control Roll on the gimbal if you want to use it for that instead of the gimbal's own board, but you can't do anything to manually control that channel.

    BTW, the manual you're looking at is for the NAZA Lite. The one you need for the NAZA in the Phantom 1 is this: http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... .24_en.pdf

    And here's the advanced manual for the P1 if you don't have it already: http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... 1.7_en.pdf
     
  7. guitarplayer08

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know what the switch circled in red in the photo controls? I am currently using the one circled in yellow to control my gimbal tilt.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    That's the pot that controls output mode on the controller (FCC/CE), which I believe is non-functional in the P1. Either way, the Phantom's Tx and Rx only have 7 channels so you're kind of stuck with that. If you need more output options, you'll need to move to aftermarket gear.