Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Phantom Radio Receiver

Discussion in 'Other DJI Multi-Rotors' started by Carl4, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. Carl4

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am looking at building a generic TBS clone. I currently have a FC40 and thought I could save a few dollars in the short run by getting a 5.8 radio receiver for the FC40 / Vision for the new quad.

    Would the Vision radio receiver work with a Naza-M Lite?
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    I don't see any reason why not. The receiver uses s-bus which the Naza lite understands.
     
  3. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Sort on the same subject-I wonder if I can use a Taranis X8R receiver with a Naza V2?
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You can use a Taranis with an X8R with a NAZA v2. The X4R will work great too, takes up a bit less space inside a Phantom or other tight spaces.

    Check rilot's sig above and you'll see he's using the Taranis with NAZA v2.
     
  5. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Thanks much. Looks like that's the way I'll go, then. I was thinking about canabelizing the guts from my Phantom 1 (controller and receiver) but I'm thinking that might not be possible. (I think the receiver in the 1 may be an integrated unit and not a stand alone unit, but I haven't cracked open my 1 for a long time and can't remember what it looks like).

    Fred in Oklahoma City
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The P1 has a separate receiver board so that wouldn't be an issue. You should be able to use at least the NAZA controller in your next build.

    Do you know exactly which model of the P1 you have?
     
  7. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    No, but I suspect it's quite old by today's standards. I acquired the Phantom 1 sometime in May of 2013.
     
  8. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Now that I think about it, I must have a Phantom version 1.0, which would make sense given when I bought it. I checked and find that the receiver is a tiny pcb you can buy for around $12.00. If what I'm thinking will work, then I could transplant my receiver and Naza, and use my old radio with my new build.