Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Bratinov

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4
    My new Phantom 4 gave me quite the scare today, thought I'd share.
    I've never had anything like this happen before, had a p2 and a p3 before this



    There was almost no wind, I was above any cables, upon inspection the only notable thing was some grime marks on the props:
    [​IMG]
    (I'm not 100% sure those are from today, yesterday I clipped some dry weeds during take off)

    Flight log:
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

    Any insight would be appreciated :)
     
    #1 Bratinov, Jun 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016
  2. crashburn

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've had same shake with my P4 a couple of times. No, you didn't hit anything. Hopefully the new firmware will smooth things out.
     
    Bratinov likes this.
  3. thunderbird

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
  4. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    u hit a big bug....
     
  5. chris digata

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thats a gimbal error so the phantom did nothing only your camera moved
     
  6. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    I had that happen only once. Was flying aggressively like you and the camera gimbal just went limp for about 3 seconds. I suspected a firmware glitch. I have not seen this issue again sinse the latest upgrade.
     
    Bratinov likes this.
  7. Ortiz82

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like a bug by the prop, spiral art type splatter.
     
    Bratinov likes this.
  8. jwt873

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Woodlands, MB Canada
    Were you in Sport mode? I find that in Sport mode, I can tilt the craft more than the gimbal can compensate for when making sharp turns at high speed. (I've been pretty well sideways :) )

    This causes a sudden jerk in the video as the gimbal recovers. But, when this happens I always see an error message "Gimbal Reached End Point" flashed on the screen
     
    Bratinov likes this.
  9. Bratinov

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hopefully its this, its never happened since.


    I don't remember, but I've noticed said behavior in Sport Mode, there are times I could not keep a strait line in that mode, footage gets jittery, nothing like in this case though.

    Never seen that message before (Phantom 3 used to have "Gimbal motor overloaded" when going full left" ... think I'll be getting a cheap P3A for modding :)
     
    #9 Bratinov, Jun 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  10. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    You can get wind shear at elevation.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app