Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Contour Camera on Phantom?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by imfuller, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. imfuller

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Anyone have a Contour? Just at work going over some Contour footage, and a light bulb went off. The contours are lighter, have different mounts, AAAND a GPS tracking with altitude, speed, etc etc.

    Im gonna try and get my hands on one to test out, until then, has anyone tried them on the phantom? I found some footage online but it was very Jello-y, but I'm sure there are different dampening solutions.
     
  2. Sac D

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    I looked at the Contour, but didn't pull the trigger. Looks nice though! And the specs are similar to most of the other choices.
     
  3. Lights Out

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any thoughts on how to properly mount a contour to the phantom?
     
  4. tanasit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a Contour and had been trying to figure out how to mount it to my Phantom so that there's be no jello.

    1. Stock mount = jello.
    2. Stock mount + sorbothane + rubber grommets around the screws = less jello.
    3. Velcro loop = less jello.
    4. Velcro loop + sorbothane = still some jello here & there.
    5. Velcro loop + sorbothane + foam pad = jello FREE.

    See pictures below: (the camera mount is from the head strap set that I just slipped the Velcro through)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Later on, I added the FPV so the little FPV camera goes in as seen below:(Contour has no video output for the FPV transmitter)

    [​IMG]

    Without the green foam pad (from the children play pad), the Velcro seemed to swing when the Phantom roll in turn thus caused the swinging video. As for addition protection, I tie the hand strap to the landing gear.
     
  5. DeweyAXD

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    I've just knocked this 3D model up after someone mentioned the need to mount a drift HD to the Phantom (the drift also has a Tripod thread). It would work for both or any camera with a tripod thread. I've not had one made yet but if there is interest someone is free to have it made themselves and be a beta tester.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As you can see it is basically a GoPro mount to 'Camera hotshoe' bracket. You would then get a 'Hotshoe to Tripod adapter' like this for a about £2.50 from ebay. The alloy ones are good and weight 20grams max.

    [​IMG]

    You undo the knurled nut, slide the mount into the hotshoe/gropro, srew it down tight. Then do the same at the other end on the camera (maybe with an extra 1/2 inch nylock nut for security). Food for thought so PM if there is interest
     
  6. maytrix

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been checking the specifications and the Contour 2 and Contour +2 weigh 5.1 and 5.5 ounces respectively. This is not lighter than a naked GoPro Hero 3 -- but very close to the weight of the Hero 3 with the addition of a waterproof housing. I believe that adding a waterproof housing to the +2 would make it heavier than the GoPro.

    But... I don't have a Contour so perhaps I've misread the figures?

    I am interested in the Contour 2 because it is waterproof -- but only to three feet, so perhaps it is best described as "dunk proof". I doubt that it would survive a typical Phantom water crash and sinking but it would handy for controlled water landings, a project I've been dabbling with (very cautiously).

    I used a Drift HD on my Phantom until switching to a much lighter GoPro. I really prefer the Drift's controls, LCD screen, and swivel lens but it is something of a pig in terms of weight.




     
  8. weven

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast Australia
    My Ion-Air Pro no jello mount.
    Steve

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Marlow

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I realize this thread is like 2 years old, but thought, I'd shed some input in how I solved this issue.

    I found a cheap GoPro shockmounted Gimbal on eBay: http://www.ebay.ie/itm/181663545096 . If the add doesn't work anymore, search for "gopro anti-vibration gimbal phantom". The price is around 15-20 quid and it's made mostly of carbon fiber.

    I then bought a GoPro mount for the Contour camera from Amazon. Search for "Contour Conversion Adapter Standard Gopro" there. Costs about a 10er.

    The result is actually really nice.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And quite happy with the first flight:


    Now to find a way to make a 2D Gimbal to work with the Contour camera.

    /M
     
  10. Marlow

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0