Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compatabilty?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by teknochild, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. teknochild

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry this is a bit of a noob question. The h3-3d version that comes with the GCU, is this self contained or does it still need a naza? It says "naza lite is not supported" and that's what I (will) have. So I am a bit confused. Also can the third axis be locked/disabled if you want?
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    I would have to conclude that if DJI states that Naza Lite is not supported, you should probably consider another gimbal
    maybe the DYS or the Arris CM3000, both of which will run stand alone without a NAZA. (which you could potentially turn off the yaw as well, but honestly, you wouldn't want to)
     
  3. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    It's self contained, but still needs to be wired to a flight controller, i.e, A2, Wookong-M, Naza-M V1 and V2, Phantom flight controllers .

    Yes, it has an FPV mode you can enable in the Assistant. This is still stabilised, but tracks with the movements of craft more like it's fixed. Check YouTube for 'Zenmuse H3-3D FPV mode' for examples.
     
  4. teknochild

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, the zenmuse get's it's attitude measurements from the naza then? Even the one that comes with a GCU.

    And I would occasionally like to turn the yaw off while just flying fpv for fun and not shooting so the cameras always pointing forward.

    Any idea why it needs to be connected to the flight controller?

    I'm planning on building an f550. I've had a v1 phantom for a long time and got the bug to get a gimbal, but looked at the phantom 2 and quit the second I saw the fully proprietary battery. I've always wanted something that had more, and more accessible space for mounting FPV stuff and more batteries anyway, do the phantom 2 wasn't really the best fit anyway.
     
  5. Jaybee

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol UK
    Because the gimbal's GCU needs to communicate with the craft in order to work.

    Read pages 12/13 to help you understand: http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... .02_en.pdf
     
  6. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    the Phantom 1 (as far as I know), does not have the NAZA Lite in it, but hast he Naza M, so I think it would work, but you'd still need to install a PMU2 or and upgrade board to get it to work with the H3-3D.

    as for turning off the Yaw, I'm not sure if the the H3-3d has a "FPV mode" (that the Vision 2+ has)
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct. The Zenmuse uses blended input for stabilization. Some of the data comes from the on-board IMU (in the little housing on the gimbal frame) and the rest comes from the flight controller's IMU, via the GCU.

    The GCU has two functions, that are both already present in the P2 mainboard and the P1 upgrade board:
    -PMU for gimbal
    -Capture IMU data from FC
     
  8. teknochild

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not looking to use it on phantom 1.

    That sucks, I have no need for the extras of the naza v2, and especially not the extra $170 it costs.
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The NAZA-Lite doesn't have the features necessary to support a gimbal, so you'll at least need a NAZA-M (v1). I think the difference in cost with the v2 that you see is for the one with the GPS unit...you can buy it without that for just over $200 total.
     
  10. teknochild

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was comparing them both with gps (but I was a little off).
    With gps
    naza lite 170
    naza v2 300

    The gimbal support would be the only thing I would be interested in with the v2, everything else osd/telemetry/downlink etc I already have equipment for and prefer over. Guess I'll have to find a gimbal with its own IMU.