Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

CEE/FCC switch found ?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dronebandit, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. dronebandit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    in other thread guys found out that video transmission channel /quality is customizable/fixed depending on regional/language setting in your Android/IOS phone. When I switch my phone from local language to English (US) , I can select custom channels and bitrate for FPV video. Could it be that those also influence FCC/CE TX power output ? or 2 HW versions of TX more probable ? which I do not belieive, as software dependent switch would be easier and less expensive than managing logistics and parts for assembly of 2 HW versions.
    Also on P2V+ there was 1HW and (hw/sw) switch button.

    correction - title should say CE, not CEE
     
    #1 dronebandit, Jul 29, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    According to DJI people there is one version and it switches based on GPS location.
     
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    yes i was wondering the same.

    i don't think they could store all the gps locations, eu, usa, asia, etc etc
     
  4. dronebandit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    yes, exactly, I do not believe they put somewhere inside huge database of GPS locations just in order to set CE/FCC. They got already problems to capture reliably non fly zones (i.e London Heathrow etc.) :) which are far more important
    Setting by regional/language setting is easy to do.
    Pure speculation though, no evidence
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,759
    Likes Received:
    3,468
    No need for a huge database. It's a simple matter of Europe = CEE and everything else = FCC.
     
  6. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    Switched by GPS location...? Doubtful. :p
    What if one use inside house?
    And (it's function of TX, not aircraft, I think) what if Pad don't have GPSr?
     
  7. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    They don't need to specify every location, just a range of GPS coordinates covering the area intended.
     
  8. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    We are talking about the GPS receiver in the P3, not your iPad, and if you're indoors it will default to the last registered GPS location. What? you're going to register a location then pack up and fly to London to fly indoors again?
     
  9. taroh

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Yokohama, Japan/Taichung, Taiwan
    Original topic was about TX power. I know 2.4GHz communication is bidirectional, however.
    And it's natural that P3 is tested in Shenzheng, packed and sent to London, and first flight is indoor... It's very slight problem, but does CE test & certificate institute authenticates eqips with such a power control? That's my question.

    edit & answer to my own question - I surveyed how to get CE mark... it's self test & declaration, not authenticated by any institute. Sorry. :) If DJI has certain technical argument that the device can control the power by GPS location, they can display CE mark by themselves.
     
    #9 taroh, Jul 29, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  10. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    You missed my point, the Tx power is set by GPS location according to DJI. The controller talks to the P3, which has the GPS receiver, and sets the Tx power accordingly. There is no need for a huge location database as all DJI needs is to code in a range of GPS Lon/Lat (north/south/east/west) locations to set the allowed power, not hard to do at all. And, you didn't ask that question, to which I can say i don't know.
     
    taroh likes this.
  11. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    EU is not a square with 4 corners, to define EU would take thousands of coordinates.
     
    sergekouper and taroh like this.
  12. rigor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    guisborough england
    do you think it could go on your ip address if you download the firmware in the uk it would be ce and if you download from the usa it would be fcc that wouldnt be hard to do
     
  13. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    no
     
    Raph likes this.
  14. rigor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    guisborough england
    why not i have always thought thats how it would work i downloaded mine with a vpn from the us and i got it out well over a mile in the uk with full signal strengh but im no expert :)
     
  15. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    nahh :)

    I get over a mile and i downloaded mine in EU.
     
  16. rigor

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    guisborough england
    ok so i wasted my time downloading everything from the usa ha ha :)
     
  17. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY

    Now thats got to be one big house to worry if you are in ce of fcc power output and worried about needing more range when flying indoors.
     
    taroh likes this.
  18. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Dji do not claim they are set by GPS location, it is the forum techs who have told us this. If you email DJI they say they are factory set according to there shipping destination. The other week a company on ebay in the uk were selling the pros for £899 and i was tempted to get another one so contacted dji regarding this company and if there would be a proper warranty if i purchased one from them. They replied there would be but this company in the uk were importing them from USA, so flying the imported version would be breaking the law in the uk as it would be set to FCC and not CE which it should be for flying in the uk, so who knows.
     
  19. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,256
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    I found when researching this a while back that the U.S. FCC approval grant for the Tx submitted for testing indicates a conducted output of 16dBm (40mW).
    It further indicates it is equipped with an antenna with 3.5dBi gain (only one transmits). This would bring the ERP up to about 19.5dBm or ~90mW.

    It MAY be that if it is true about region specific hardware that the antenna is different for CE i.e. unity gain type.

    Just a thought.
     
  20. Glimo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    I bought a P3 having it shipped here from the US. Using a signal strength meter on the Controller, before and after I homed the Quad to any UK home point, I didn't get any difference in field strength.

    I haven't checked the output by changing the default language but I will now!

    Edit - I just tried testing with the Ipad 2 region set back to US (and rebooted) with no change to the Signal Strength between either..

    DG
     
    #20 Glimo, Jul 29, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015