Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can'take get 3 standard to bond with quad

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Jimmy1952, Sep 23, 2016.

  1. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a Phantom 4k . A P3 standard popped up on Craigslist and few weeks ago. Crashed with gimbal broken off. The rest of the quad was in good shape , just can't get the remote to bond with the quad. I purchased it for 100 bucks still in the box. For me it was an extra battery for my 4k. Would still like to get the standard working. Any ideas on the remote not pairing. I have taken the top off and nothing busted. Of course you can't always see an electrical problem
     
  2. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I'm pretty sure, without the gimbal on a standard you are not going to be able to re-link a remote to the Phantom. The remote that was linked to it would have worked (I think), but once a re-link has been started its done. My thought it has something to do with Mac address of the camera / gimbal and the remote's Mac.

    Maybe somebody will prove me wrong.
    ;)

    Rod
     
    Jimmy1952 likes this.
  3. CaptainMoonlight

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    I think the WiFi module is on the gimbal, no gimbal = no connection

    Sent from my Hudl 2 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Jimmy1952 likes this.
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I don't know, but I think you maybe.







    Correct.
    :D

    Rod
     
    #4 RodPad, Sep 24, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2016
    Jimmy1952 likes this.
  5. terry_g_c

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Springfield, Mo
    You might want to try to talk to this guy
     
    Jimmy1952 likes this.
  6. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks folks , who would have thought it. I am new to these things , so if any questions I post seem ignorant , that's because they are. Just getting started with quads.
     
  7. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    Intresting, I heard they would would not fly ?
     
  8. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    I know someone will post "why would you want to fly without a camera ? In my case , for testing reasons. Want to know if this thing is worth time and money too repair.
     
  9. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    I also have the original remote , it is what I am using to try and pair with. Thanks
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    @Jimmy1952
    Didn't watch the vid, computer to slow, but I think no gimbal works until you have re-link your remote.
     
    Jimmy1952 likes this.
  11. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes , RodPad , I see that . I have tried to do a reset on the remote and repair it with the drone. This drone and remote is only a few months old. You can never tell but a faulty remote may have caused the crash. I am new to all this , trying to learn what does what. I mess with electronics all the time , just never a drone . Thanks to all the folks here i am learning quiet a bit. Thanks for your input!
     
  12. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    BTW the remote is the one that came with the drone .....I got the works for 100 bucks. The guy was going to buy a better one , he stated. I was glad to get the battery which works on my P3 4K.
     
  13. Jimmy1952

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
    The crash did ruin the cable from the drone to the gimbal. Weird the ribbon cable on the gimbal survived. Also had to re attach the black and gray antenna wires. I ordered the cable from the drone to gimbal . Going to see how that works out once I get it back together. I do have the original remote that came with the drone.