Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you use old school air plane rc on a phantom?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Avax, Oct 13, 2014.

  1. Avax

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I am a newbie looking to get into the hobby. I see a some folks are upgrading to 8 or 16 channel Futaba controllers. I have a "never used" Futaba FP-T8UAP PCM1024 72mhz radio and receiver that is about 12 years old that has been collecting dust.

    So before I throw it on EBay to raise money for the drone fund. Is possible to adapt it to the phantom, and if so does it even make sense.

    Thanks.
     
  2. RipperFox

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not a good choice due to Freq. And need new Rx if you did try it.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    It won't work with a P2 even if you do have the receiver with the Tx, the P2 requires S-bus output.
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Is that just the 'Phantom' version of the Naza?

    I know the standard version supports 'traditional' receivers in fact the Naza ports are marked A, E, T, R, etc.

    In any case s-Bus converters are available if the OP wishes.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct, the regular NAZA v1/v2 in P1's can use Traditional/PPM/S-bus, for some reason they locked the others out in the P2-specific firmware.

    Good point on the converters, I knew you could convert S-bus to C/PPM but I didn't know it could be done in reverse :)
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
  7. Avax

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK cool it can be done with either the early version of the naza or with the s-bus converter.

    Thanks for the info. Next question would you loose range?

    Thanks