Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can you convert a P2V+ to a P2 with H3-3D and GoPro?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by sbarton, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    Crashed my P2V+ and my gimbal is pretty messed up. The arm is bent and the gimbal flops around and mostly points down. Video, telemetry, FPV, etc still work. I was able to put my Gimbal Clamp on in order to keep it from moving around. Basically have to fly around in fixed FPV and no tilt. :(

    Would it be possible to remove the camera and gimbal and get a H3-3D and GoPro?
     
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Yes, but your FPV and telemetry will be gone...
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,745
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    Look around on this one and the general discussion forum.
    This gets asked nearly every day there and you'll find threads discussing it.
     
  4. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Can you convert a P2V+ to a P2 with H3-3D and GoPro?

    by Dirty Bird » Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:00 pm

    sbarton wrote:Would it be possible to remove the camera and gimbal and get a H3-3D and GoPro?

    Yes, but your FPV and telemetry will be gone...




    Is this due to the the Vision 2's hardware or is it a software issue? I guess what i'm askin is can you add the 3 axis gimble along with the GoPro and connected it as you would on the vision along with a mini osd, would you get telemetry or am i just grasping at straws?

    Thx!
     
  5. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    You would need the Mini-OSD plus a 2.4 ghz FPV solution as the V+ Wi-Fi requires both the Wi-Fi module and the V+ gimbal to function.
     
  6. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well at least its not totally impossible if worse comes to worse.

    Any suggestions on 2.4 ghz FPV solution?

    Thx!
     
  7. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Therein lies the issue as most systems use 2.4 Ghz for control, and 5.8 Ghz for FPV. On the Vision/Vision+, this arrangement is reversed. Below are links to some 2.4 Ghz, 1.2-1.3 Ghz, and 900 Mhz FPV systems listed on HobbyKing. I have no experience with them, and I am sure there may be others available from alternate sources. The Vision+ App will no longer function, and you will have to use a FPV monitor compatible with your choice of FPV system.

    **Note if you are going to completely ditch the Vision+ FPV system, you can save a little weight and internal space by removing the Wi-Fi module, and even the Wi-Fi antennae, from within the Vision+. That would save a little on power as well.

    2.4 Ghz FPV Systems @ HobbyKing:
    http://hobbywireless.com/24-ghz-systems-c-117_88_91/

    1.2-1.3 Ghz FVP Systems:
    http://hobbywireless.com/12-ghz-13-ghz-systems-c-117_88_90/

    900 Mhz FVP Systems:
    http://hobbywireless.com/900-mhz-systems-c-117_88_89/
     
  8. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    You would be better off selling the P2V+ and buying a standard P2.
    If the P2V+ camera and gimbal are working, it's worth more used than a standard P2 so you come out ahead
     
  9. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just weighing my options..

    I have FPVLR's Stage 2 coming and a few other mods added like longer landing gear, prop guards.

    My camera however is a little jittery like its getting interference from something, not like the jello effect but jittery form the bottom to about halfway up the screen. Not sever but not the same it was when I first got it.

    Thx! for your assistance.
     
  10. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0

    I take it you can add aftermarket telemetry with the mini OSD to either of these systems as well? I was also thinking about purchasing the new Fatshark Dominator goggles.

    Thanks for your assistance with this.
     
  11. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Yes you should be able to use the Mini-OSD to get telemetry as it just goes inline between the camera and the video transmitter overlaying the telemetry over the video. I an not familiar with the frequency employed by the Fatshark Dominator goggles so you would have to do a bit of research on that one. From a cursory glance at the Dominator specs, it looks like it is compatible with an "optional" 2.4 or 5.8 Ghz receiver module.
     
  12. GRCT42

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah they are compatible with both 2.4 and 5.8ghz but they also have AV inputs which would allow other systems that have a video feed to be used. the 2.4 and 5.8ghz are the receiver module options for the new dominators.

    I am new to this but learning how things work is half the fun.