Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can X1 channel be calibrated?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by bluerid, Jan 7, 2015.

  1. bluerid

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed a gimbal on my FC40. I also installed the tilt control lever that mounts to the back of the dji transmitter. The lever is the "stock" type that comes with the 1.1.1 version of the phantom. My problem is that the lever only turns so far which does not allow the tilt on my gimbal to go all the way up or all the way down. I know that you can calibrate the X1 channel or 7th channel to set the correct end points that the lever allows but with the transmitter that I have, I am not able to plug it into my computer and use the assistant software for the transmitter. I have also tried the transmitter calibration shown in the manual but I believe that only calibrates the elevation and pitch sticks. Is there any other way that I can get this to work or should I just buy another style lever that will give me the full rotation? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    1. You have a USB plug inside your controller for use with RC assistant. Of course, the issue then is that you need the controller open to plug it in, but closed to use the tilt lever. You could make a small hole at the controller seam to allow the cable to pass through while closed.

    2. The calibration in the Naza Assistant should let you calibrate all channels. You just need to move all the controls when doing the calibration.
     
  3. Rustysocket

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Change the range for x1 in the software to adjust the endpoints for tilt. Forget exactly where its at, but its there somewhere. Had the same issue and it didnt require opening the radio.
     
  4. bluerid

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you CityZen for that information. I had no idea that there was a micro USB port on the inside of the transmitter and I've looked all over the internet believe it or not. I opened it up this morning and plugged it in to my computer. I started the software and was able to calibrate the sticks but when I moved the X1 channel it didn't show any movement on the software. I didn't have much time to play with it so I may have overlooked something but I will look further into it this afternoon.

    Rustysocket, did you change it in the rc assistant software or in the Naza assistant software?
     
  5. bluerid

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I've got the transmitter connected to the rc assistant. The x1 channel shows that there is movement but whenever I calibrate, the channel does not show any movement. After the sticks are calibrated the assistant shows that the x1 channel has movement again. Anyone have an idea?
     
  6. bluerid

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it guys! I had to upgrade the firmware and then I was able to calibrate X1. Everything is working perfectly now. Thank you guys for the help.