Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Blackpearl + Immersion RC

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by airbiscuit, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys,

    Bought 2 sets of the FPV setup mentioned. Out of the box it worked flawlessly. The other set is yet to be installed as I am waiting for the Phantom 2 to arrive.

    So if 2 Phantoms 2 are to fly together. What settings/channels/bands should I change to to avoid any unwanted interfearance in the FPVs setup?
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Just make sure that you choose video channels that are 2 channels apart to avoid crosstalk.
     
  3. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used Channels 1 & 7.

    Am yet to go out and test them both.
     
  4. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using the immersionrc 5.8 600mv with the black pearl? I'm trying to find a monitor that's works good with the immersion

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  5. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I am using this setup.

    For those using these setup I noticed it came out of the box with Band F. Does it makes any different if any other Band are used?
     
  6. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the range and quality your getting out of this setup. Ive heard that there are some issues with the immersion and black pearl in another thread here.

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  7. mustang_52

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Band f matches the frequency of the immersionrc.

    Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
     
  8. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a few test recently on range.

    Took off and just flown my Phantom 2 straight ahead at about 40 m height. All okay until about 400 m distant. A bit of static started to show and increasing height a little bit more did improved the quality.

    Continued on moving until 1 km distant and at this point the video started to break more and more static but I can still see the video on the screen. Moving up to about 100 m height at this point did improved the quality. Then did a u-turn and head back home.

    Stock controller with the TX Antenna pointing to the back of the Phantom 2.

    On my 2nd test did the same thing but now the TX Antenna is position so it is pointing out to the left side of the Phantom 2. Results? Better than the ptevious one.

    Overall I am happy with my FPV setup.
     
  9. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info.

    Did not know the IRC works on Band F.
     
  10. helishmeli

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence
    What antennas are you using? I am having major range issues on my black pearl with immersionrc receiver and duel spironet antennas. (so the black pearl has one spiro and one stock rubber duck). I don't know if I am doing something wrong or if I should get a new transmitter or rather get a new UNO receiver.
     
  11. helishmeli

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence
    Do you have any further info on black pearl with immersionrc? I have this setup along with spironet antennas and have horrible range. Any info and/or reccomendations would be much appreciated.
     
  12. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    How many channels does your black pearl have?
     
  13. helishmeli

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Providence
    I think I have the black pearl with just band F and not the full 32 channels. Also, the black pearl I have is SMA and not the RPSMA version.