Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

battery removal while still on

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by pomonabill220, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    I have searched for something relating to this, and have come up empty handed, so please excuse me if I missed it.
    I am wondering why it is SOO very important to power down the battery before and after it is inserted into the quad?
    Will it damage something?
    Isn't it similar to when you land hard/crash and the battery pops out?
    Is is hard on the contacts (pitting/arcing)?
    What is the difference between turning the battery off before/after inserting/removal, and not turning it off?

    I know there are many warnings about this, but NO explanations as to why.
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The manual does mention that you shouldn't pull it out or put it in while on. Well I and many others have done just the opposite with no ill effects.
     
  3. Adrian Shaw

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you are recording video and pull the battery out you can corrupt your card and lose your flight data.

    Also, I guess if your props are still spinning when you try to remove the battery you could chop off your fingers, but only an idiot would do that
     
  4. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    Well I must admit I have done the same but not intentionally. I panicked when i saw that it was on though.
    I know that the manual really makes a point of this, but I have never found an explanation as to why or what would/could be damaged.
    The only thing I can think of is if battery voltage disappeared while the data bus was till "talking", that could corrupt data or possibly damage the data bus drivers, but it would be nice to know.
    thanks for the reply!
     
  5. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Think of it like a desktop computer, you wouldn't just yank out the wall plug to turn it off would ya? :)
     
  6. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    I can see that, but I have an Sj4000 camera with it's own battery so that shouldn't happen and well YAH!! I you are dumb enough to stick your hand in a blender while it is running..... just sayin....
     
  7. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    Sometimes I have had to and nothing bad happened.... Also, how about when the power fails? Power failures are usually alot more drastic than just pulling the plug or flipping the power switch. Used to be a BIG no no on early versions of windows, but now they seem to survive pretty good.
     
  8. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    I can see what you are saying though... unintentional power interruption is not the best way to shut things down.
     
  9. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Accidents happen but it is best to power down first. It only takes a second to do it right.
     
  10. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Some times there's no other way except to pull the plug and needless to say the computer suffered no ill effects by doing so.
     
  11. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    That is true... why not do it right and NOT tempt fait!
     
  12. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    You seem to be splitting hairs again. o_O
     
  13. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Pulling the battery out will corrupt the video file if you haven't pressed stop.
    It is however recoverable if you repower the phantom and let it finalise the video.
     
  14. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    That will not happen to me because my camera has it's OWN battery.
    Look at my post #6 above.
     
  15. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I am a computer tech, and I actually had someone that "said" they were Microsoft Certified hold the power button on a fully running computer to shut it down... So it does happen... lol... I do it only as a last resort. I would assume it'd be sorta the same for a Phantom. I always do the power-on sequence of GoPro, controller, Phantom, Black Pearl. I do the GoPro first because I use the WiFi to set camera settings then turn off WiFi.