Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery pack for goggles?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by damoncooper, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    So I just received my SkyZone goggles and realized I need a power source/battery pack.

    The manual says it'll take DC 7-28V/1A input and consumes 12V 4.3W.

    It comes with a cable to connect one end to the goggles and the other to a battery or power adapter (red plug).

    Any pointers to an appropriate battery setup for FPV goggles would be appreciated.

    Thx!
     
  2. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Skyzones can handle up to a 6S lipo. I have no idea why you would use that.

    Try a 3S 800mAH. I heard that someone ran an hour from that lipo.
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... _pack.html

    Has the connector that you need too. Let me know how you like the Skyzones! Which tx are you using?
     
  3. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Cool thanks! Yeah it's got the connector already. I also swapped out the rubber eye pieces for far shark replacements at the unanimous agreement by folks on another forum. They're much more comfortable.

    Using an Immersion RC 600mw Tx.

    Do people typically velcro the battery on the side of these things or hang from your hip somehow or?

    Thx!
     
  4. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fatsharks have battery that fits on headband. I actually am not comfortable with a battery strapped to my head.... especially a lipo!

    Have you tried it already? do they work with the immersion?
     
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah, my thoughts exactly! Do folks typically use some kind of belt holder?
     
  6. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've only seen people have it hard wired to a ground station and antenna mounted on a pole up high. I personally would do the belt thing some how. I edited my last post to add the question: How does she work with the immersion? did you test it?
     
  7. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Haven't tested it yet. Fresh outta the box.
     
  8. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok.. post here when you find out.
     
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Will do. It's got 4 bands and 32 channels, so I'm hopeful it'll be ok
     
  10. d4ddyo

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah... so does the black pearl and there is a specific 7 channel for immersion.
     
  11. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Only had a chance to check the docs for the Tx and goggles but they "seem" to be compatible on the surface. Band 4 on the SkyZones appears to match the frequencies of the Immersion RC 600 Tx exactly:

    SkyZone Rx:


    Immersion Tx:
     

    Attached Files: