Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Assist doesn't recognize any connection with devices

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by DrJohn40, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. DrJohn40

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywood, SC
    Having a problem getting the P2 assist to recognize that I have either controller or P2+ connected. I have a PC with Windows 8. When I plug controller or P2+ into computer, the assist app doesn't see anything connected to it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Drivers? Have you downloaded and installed the drivers for the Phantom?
     
  3. DrJohn40

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywood, SC
    Yes, after reading earlier comments, I did download the drivers. I realize that I did not shut down the computer and restart after the download. I will try that. Or is there something else I have to do to install the drivers? I'll let you know Meta4. Thanks for giving me a starting point.
     
  4. DrJohn40

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywood, SC
    New to the forum, but I wanted to thank y'all for public and private messages. Thanks to your help that problem was solved. (Now onto looking into why my sticks won't calibrate and I get Error #29). :)
     
  5. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    As ive seen a couple of other posts regarding W8 and the asst software would you care to post the solution to your issue?
     
  6. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Yes as another poster asked... Care to share the solution? I have seen a lot of folks with windows 8 struggle to get things working.
     
  7. DrJohn40

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywood, SC
    I finally got it going. I had already downloaded the latest version of Assistant. I did have to then go back and download the drivers. Then turned the computer totally off and restarted it. Then turned the controller on (no phsical connection to the computer. Turned on the range extender. Then connected to V2+V3 to the computer via inculded connector. Suddenly everything was recognized and i was able to go through the whole update process.

    So, major problem solved and I hope this is helpful to someone. However, when I went to calibrate the sticks on the controller, one of the sticks would not go back to dead center when I let go of it. While the other three all show a value of zero. the up/down stick (mode 2) shows a +32 value. I wemt through it several times as recommended but I kept getting Error #29. So the next step is going through the full manual and see if I can find other ideas for resolving it.
     
  8. DrJohn40

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywood, SC
    I think I did, but I will try everything again and make sure that is checked. Thanks.