Airspace Authorization Wait Times?

Reaction score
There's an event I want to photograph that is ongoing but also temporal. An ice jam has formed in the Delaware River near Trenton NJ and I'd like to photograph it. I am a certified Part 107 operator.
The location is on the boarder of TTN class D airspace and my operation would be both within and beyond the controlled airspace.
Yesterday evening, I submitted an airspace authorization request through FAADroneZone.faa.gov. I put in for a 7 day window operating from dawn until dusk. As this is a weather phenomena, the opportunity to fly and record the event is fleeting.
In that regard, how long is it taking to receive airspace authorizations through the online system (not waivers which I understand to be more rigorously evaluated)?
-M

My last Authorization took 103 days I believe and it was an "Easy" one.

If you are going to be "Working" in this area you should have requests in at least 90 days prior to any events. Most commercial operations have long since submitted requests for all areas they might be flying in regionally.

My last Authorization took 103 days I believe and it was an "Easy" one.

If you are going to be "Working" in this area you should have requests in at least 90 days prior to any events. Most commercial operations have long since submitted requests for all areas they might be flying in regionally.

103 days for an authorization not a waiver?

7 different authorizations requested on September 21st with no approvals yet. All pretty easy authorization requests...

Any job requiring airspace authorization may as well be passed up at this point unless it's something that's been scheduled a year in advance.

I've been waiting since mid July 2017 for Surface Class E authorization. Their 90 day window is BS.

Reactions: weldor
Any job requiring airspace authorization may as well be passed up at this point unless it's something that's been scheduled a year in advance.