Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Adding fpv goggles to system with monitor

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by QuadGrandad, Sep 22, 2014.

  1. QuadGrandad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I'm new to this forum. I'm also new to the hobby, getting my first Phantom2 last october. Now I have a phantom2/ gopro/ monitor set up built for me by Atlanta Hobby. I want to add FPV goggles for friends/ family to be able to experience FPV but continue to use the monitor as I control the quad. I'm considering the skyzones for the diversity set up and their favorable reviews. Shouldn't I be able to run both, as they would be receiving the signal from the quad? Or is this going to require detailed set up? Thanks in advance for any comments.
     
  2. N[]vA

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personal preference really, that said I like filming with goggles more as I find it easier to stay focus on what the camera is pointed at, easier to frame shots etc.

    When flying in really tight places, indoors and the like, I fly with a 8" lcd screen
     
  3. simon3000gt

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes you are correct the Transmitter can be received by more that one , so both the goggles and Monitor can be used at the same time. You just need to make sure the new item can receive the channels you are transmitting on. Personally I do it the other way, I fly with the goggles and let other watch on the monitor

    Simon
     
  4. QuadGrandad

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the responses. Glad to know I guessed right. I guess a pair of goggles are in my future. Then my 6 year old grandson can fly with me.
     
  5. tonylumps

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Newtown Square Pa
    I just ordered the Skyzone for the same reason you are 4 bands 8 channel Should not have a problem .But will see when I get them this week.
     
  6. tonylumps

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Newtown Square Pa
    Well I tried out the Skyzone goggles.It was the first time using goggles. It took some time to get used to them. But a lot better flying then just a monitor. I tried flying tight circles around a stack of 4 or 5 Hay Bales about 100 Yds. out that I would not try with just a monitor and it worked great.