Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Zenmuse H4-3D announced at CES

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by ddublu, Jan 5, 2015.

  1. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    What do we know other than an updated version to support the Hero 4?
     
  2. rgb62

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been flying my Hero4 in the H3-3D without issues.

     
  3. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    So have I but I have to think there will be some type of advantage to have an updated version. Lighter possibly.
     
  4. jcknows0

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Guess I know what I will be buying for my backup Phantom 2. Any idea when it is available?
     
  5. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Unless you have made modifications to both gimbal and camera, you are likely not getting the best results and are putting excessive strain on the gimbal. An H4-3D gimbal will fix both of those issues.

    It had better be configurable to accommodate an ND filter without adding weights in odd places. Not holding my breath on that one.
     
  6. ddublu

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Virginia
    Bingo....I hate putting weights on my gimbal and without them my picture isnt PERFECTLY level. I'll be first in line to buy this....Also, key to point out here that this is the exact reason I didnt grind an opening in my 2nd H3-3D...resale would have dropped quite a bit, I'd bet. Stuck with a small piece of tape and glad I did.
     
  7. smole

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been waiting for this gimbal for 2 months, can't wait to see the specs and pull the trigger on the GP 4 Black :)
     
  8. scubari

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, have you one allready ? ;)
     
  9. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    It's almost the same as the h3-3d but much expensive...
     
  10. Joeg1937

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Estero, FL
    I just bought one and the stabilization seems to be much better than the H3-2D that's what I had before. The only difference is that it hangs quite close to the ground.i am not happy with the plug in ribbon it plugs into the USB on the GoPro I liked the pin plug from the back much better, this ribbon is cheesy and if you should have a minor crash, there goes the gimbal.....
    I am using a GoPro 3+ Black
     
  11. GhostMaster

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    36
    The h4-3d is for the hero 4 black not the hero 3, h3-3d is the one you should got.
     
  12. Joeg1937

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Estero, FL
    .
    I am using a GoPro 3+ Black[/quote]
    The h4-3d is for the hero 4 black not the hero 3, h3-3d is the one you should got.[/quote]


    Beg to differ with you but the GoPro black 3+ can be used on either gimbal.....
     
  13. way2kailash

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. scubari

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using 3+ with h4 without problems.
     
  15. rockhoundrob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
    I bought my Phantom 2 V2 with H4-3D about a month go. I have a Hero4 Silver. It balances just fine, but it bothers me that the counterweight is slightly heavier (by about 4 grams, it is made for a Hero 4 Black). I grounded down a nickel (cost me 5 cents!) until I got it to weigh 3.75 grams. Put it on top of the gopro with duct tape and balances just fine. I think I could do without the nickel, but I just don't want the gimbal to work harder than it should.