Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Zenmuse H3-2D Firmware update v1.6 available

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by The Editor, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
  2. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    How do I upgrade if I have the Phantom Upgrade Board?

    When I look at Naza Assistant on the Upgrade page, all I see is
    Main Controller (4.02)
    GPS (6.0.1.3)
    P330CB-H3-2D (1.0.0.9)

    I do not see anything for Gimbal
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I believe you need to download the Zenmuse assistant software, from the same page The Editor linked above, and then connect straight to its controller via USB.
     
  4. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    With the upgrade board there is no USB port other then the original Phantoms port

    The release notes state...

    Phantom users with the P330CB-H3-2D central board should upgrade their firmware using the latest NAZA-M assistantsoftware. The “V1.4 Gimbal IMU”upgrade can be found on the “Upgrade”page.

    I bet a new Naza Assistant Software version will show up soon..
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      57.4 KB
      Views:
      1,185
  5. sehested

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The release notes says that Naza-M Assistant software 2.20 should be able to be used. When they updated the Assistant software a few weeks ago it was also stated in the release notes that firmware 4.02 and Assistant software 2.20 should be able to upgrade the P330CB-H3-2D board but it doesnt look like that at the moment. I cant upgrade either :(
     
  6. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Glad to see I'm not going crazy....
     
  7. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry guys I do not have the P330CB-H3-2D so I could not test.

    I run the Zenmuse with the PMU v2 and can confirm that updates all ok.
     
  8. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I took the Zenmuse off my phantom and used an extra 8 pin cable to connect to the GCU that came with the Zenmuse. Plugged in the GCU to my PC with a USB cable and applied power to the GCU.

    Installed the Zenmuse Assistant 1.02 and it took the updates.

    ** Notice that it still says there is update 1.6 available for the main controller, power down and power back up and repeat the process. **



    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Sorry, that's the process I was trying to suggest earlier, I didn't do a great job of making it clear though :oops:
     
  10. diegosamy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont need to take out the cgu from the phantom right ? Just power up the phantom and connect the cgu via usb to the pc?
     
  11. jaggillan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much for posting this, one question I'm afraid; what type of cable connects to the laptop, none of my usb cables fit the GCU, is it a standard cable that I need to buy? or did it come with the zenmuse so I just need to look harder for it..., - don't think Ive thrown anything away, but not found any cable yet!!
     
  12. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    The zenmuse came with one, but it's just a standard micro usb
     
  13. diegosamy

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont need to take out the cgu from the phantom right ? Just power up the phantom and connect the cgu via usb to the pc?
     
  14. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I don't have a gcu in my phantom, I am using the Upgrade Board.
     
  15. jaggillan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for posting the photos etc, just done the upgrade. It was a disappointment that the zenmuse gave up with fast turns, so now looking forward to flying it and testing. Will also be nice not to have to press the record button so gingerly. Cool!
     
  16. Snagley

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wanted to say thanks for this - no more reset after compass dance.
    I did notice that even tho it says firmware is 1.6 in the Zenmuse_H3_2D Assistant software it still shows 1.0.0.9 in the Naza Assistant software with no updates.
    Gimbal is working fine thank you again.
    Craig

     
  17. snapdragon

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Fdnyfish, your method worked well.

    I upgraded once and it installed 1.4, so I did it again and now it's on 1.6 :)
     
  18. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Thank you Snapdragon, after reading your post and looking at my photos, I only upgraded once to v1.4, I just did it again this morning and now it's at 1.6.
     
  19. Mindtheater

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is 1.0.0.9 the latest version? The latest assist software recognizes the gimbal as P330-CB H3-2D. The previous assist software showed it as GCU, gimbal control unit. End result is, It says its "up to date" as version 1.0.0.9. I really don't feel like taking the gimbal off and hooking it directly to computer. Looks like that's the only way right now. Am I wrong?
     
  20. Snagley

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I submitted a problem report to DJI about this. Here is what I submitted and their response.

    Trying to update the Zenmuse H3-D2 gimble with the P330CB-H3-2D board. It says \"Phantom users with the P330CB-H3-2D central board should upgrade their firmware using the latest NAZA-M assistant software. The V1.4 Gimbal IMU upgrade can be found on the upgrade page\" In the upgrade section of the naza assistant it says I\'m using P330CB-H3-2D firmware v 1.0.0.9 and no update. I am using the Naza software 2.2 Naza firmware 4.02 Am I missing something here?




    Dear,

    We find this BUG. We are working hard for it.
    When we are receive new news we will contact your ASAP.

    Thanks your understand.

    DJI SUPPORT DEPARTMENT