Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Zenmuse and GoPro on Vision+ with Vision app working

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by cahutch, Sep 26, 2014.

  1. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
  2. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
  3. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    Agreed. Some users have been waiting for info on this though and they've updated the info today.
    They are saying 2-3 weeks out for pre-orders now but that might change and they have a no refund policy. :(

    It's an expensive solution in any case and I don't really see the need for the quick release feature.
    If you destroyed your Vision+ gimbal and want to replace it with a GoPro, It will cost you $298 Euros ($378 USD) + another $379 for the Zenmuse gimbal + the cost of the GoPro if you don't already have one.
    Compared to the $600 to just replace the Vision+ camera.

    It relays the video feed from the GoPro to the Vision app, but there's no remote control of the camera in the air.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,477
    So it will cost more and have less function but apart from that it's really good?
     
  5. brorex

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean no remote control? Like it won't be able to take pics?
     
  6. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    You can't control the GoPro camera from the ground the way you can the Vision+ camera. You have to configure your settings on the ground, then select record (for video) or set an interval (for stills) before lifting off. You have to bring the camera back to you to change the settings via the camera controls.
     
  7. ilovecoffee

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    17
    There's a few settings in the Vision app's code for GoPro, all just turned off in the code however. Does the Vision App currently work with the Phantom with Zenmuse and Hero 3 configuration?

    But by the sounds of it, it just relays video signals so no actual control of the camera itself!
     
  8. brorex

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks DB you just saved me from ordering one as I would like to fly with a go pro but being able to start recording and taking pics while in flight are a must.
     
  9. AsiaFlyer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Koh Samui, Thailand
    I am in the market for a replacement gimbal/camera but this is too expensive in IMO for the conversion to Gopro (unless the new Gopro 4 is going to much much better than V+ camera), I more interested in the RX100 conversion.