Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

X1 Gimbal Pitch in PV ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by juarboleda, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    Hi, Someone tried to calibrate the pitch control X1 additional channel for use in PV to move the camera as the 7th Channel in Phantom 1 ?. in assistent software and RC show this option: I want control the pitch not with phone....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Morgan 1983

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Coast, New Zealand
    I just tried this yesterday when I fitted the tilt lever to my tx in the hopes it would work. Form what I can find on the net; this isn't an option but hopefully a firmware update will allow it!
     
  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    The dronexpert.nl gimbal appears to have found out how to activate this channel for tilt control on the Vision. Units are shipping soon, with a few members having pre-ordered. Once they have them hopefully it will give an insight into how we might be able to get the 7th channel operational...
     
  4. Morgan 1983

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Coast, New Zealand
    Or they could be using a P2 model with a vision camera attached because we know the firmware in a P2 allows the tilt lever to work but as far as my recent tinkering with the assistant software suggests; it's not possible in the PV yet.
    If that is what DronExpert have done then That is a cheeky way to of advertising capabilities but I see why they would do it; they'd know having tilt control via the lever (rather than the app) would be a big selling point.... Time will tell my growing skepticism.
     
  5. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    No, the channel works in the Vision in NAZAM mode in the sense that you can see it moving in the Assistant if you twiddle the pot with a screwdriver. What it doesn't do is tilt the stock gimbal. So either the signal is sent down to the stock servo but ignored by it or they've used one of the empty plugs on the Vision main board (the one marked Zenmuse, perhaps?). Shouldn't be long now before our members get theirs and can tell us once and for all!
     
  6. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Just a thought (please do not shoot me down in flames as I am an ignorant newbie and this might have been mentioned before) but maybe the way they have done this is by using software. The Dutch guys make a play about not having to do surgery to your PV2 so perhaps you have to use their software to activate it. If this is the case I, for one, would be a bit cautious as I know from experience that patching someone else's code can cause gremlins.
     
  7. juarboleda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bogotá Colombia
    Rotorpixel say this
    "Completely plug-and-play. Just connect the vibration damping balls together, and plug in 2 cables. No soldering or opening the Phantom necessary. You also need to go into the Assistant software and change the gimbal gain settings, since you don't want the standard gimbal correction signals (meant for the stock pitch servo) to be sent to the gimbal control board."
    Is this the answer ?
     
  8. ZonComGMZ

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm betting that it is plugged into the NAZA-M already and the P2V Gimbal just ignores it. I think if we took off the P2V camera and put a regular gimbal on there it would work with tilt control. The only thing we might need is a wiring adapter if even that. Should be soon when the RotoPixel & Dutch Gimbal start shipping and we see how it is wired. Then it is probably just finding how it is wired before we can all start messing with the cheapo gimbals and mounting our P2V cameras to them.
     
  9. Morgan 1983

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Coast, New Zealand
    Hmmm I hope your right Pull Up, but I can't shake the feeling that it will be reliant on a firmware change in the PV main board that will allow the X1 channel to control the gimbal (any gimbal). Let's see what DronExpert and Rotor pixel come up with in the next 10 days. Who knows (other than DJI), the next firmware upgrade may release this feature along with the way pointing!!
    Cheers,
    Morgan (aka skeptic)
     
  10. mitchsden

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, UK
    Just having a think about this

    On a P2 with a Zenmuse, the gimbal control is switched to off, as it is for servo driven gimbals only.

    I guess the GCU on the Zenmuse or Alexmos controller on other units takes over for stability.

    Perhaps when set to off, the signal wire to the original PV2 changes to allow the signal to
    be read by a brushless gimbal controller, allowing use of the pitch on the 7th channel.

    I am half asleep, so may be thinking rubbish :)
     
  11. Wasp

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found this on DJIGuys.com and it worked for my PV. The tilt function in DJI app no longer works, but it tilts with X1 lever now.