Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Would You Upgrage Your Compass?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Andrey320, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. Andrey320

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Calabasas CA
    If you had a P2 with the original compass and the deal you got had an extra leg with the new upgraded (shielded) compass, would you upgrade it?
    (Just wanted to get your opinion on whether this is worth the trouble)

    Thank you for your input!
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5,075
    Likes Received:
    1,975
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Most likely the new one was either cheaper or more reliable. Unless someone actually knows the difference between the two, you won't get much more than that.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,237
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I upgraded mine and noticed no difference.
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    9,386
    Likes Received:
    4,500
    I've seen nothing to suggest the new compass is a upgrade.
    DJI's only words on it are to say it's anti-static but nobody has ever heard of any static induced problem with the old one.
    DJI haven't said it works any better and it's not like Phantoms with the new one fly straighter.
    Hard to see how it would be worth the effort to make the change.
     
  5. Andrey320

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Calabasas CA
    Thank you all for the input. I recall reading someone on here say that the compass was modified / upgraded to help with some possible issues. It would be much easier for me to not have to swap legs and just sell the new, packaged one.
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    7,008
    Likes Received:
    1,947
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    While I agree there may be no benefit.

    The next time I opened my quad I'd install it if I had one.

    Not much effort involved IMO.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,237
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    While that might be true, I would think there was a reason to redesign it. Maybe it's just prettier? Who knows. It was a cheap "upgrade", so I took advantage of it just in case there is a benefit.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    24,237
    Likes Received:
    7,362
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
  9. spudraleigh

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    ABSOLUTELY! Go ahead and upgrade away! As long as you are careful you have nothing to lose and everything to gain, especially if you already have the leg with new compass installed. It's just another preventative measure and I am totally in favor of all of those.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Upgrage Compass Forum Date
Compass errors.. Pro/Adv Discussion Yesterday at 7:20 PM
Concrete magnetic compass error General Discussion Sunday at 10:14 AM
1.7.9 Compass Error Fixed! (When Downgrading) 1.5.7 Fix also? Standard/4k Discussion May 20, 2017
Standard Random Compass Errors Phantom 3 Help May 19, 2017
Compass error and can't calibrate also no data received between RC and gimbal Phantom 4 Pro Help May 19, 2017