Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Would you like the DJI Go app to have distance in Feet and Miles?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by tonyt76, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    81
    #1 tonyt76, Jul 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2016
    flpholt likes this.
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
  3. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Mine shows distance in feet.
     
  4. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    you can select between metric (meters) and imperial (feet) now, so what is the question?
     
  5. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    I guess some people have a problem figuring out how many miles go into 32,000 feet.
     
  6. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    I figure after a Late August or early September firmware update you won't need to worry about miles being displayed. They will limit you to an arbitrary distance limit per your location. I for one won't be doing any more updates unless there is one that adds electronic steroids to the bird to make it morph into a P5.:cool::cool::cool::cool:
     
    flpholt likes this.
  7. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Even though the math is simple I don't see why it wouldn't be handy to have it in addition to the existing options.
     
    tonyt76 likes this.
  8. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    81
    Miles and feet for distance, not meters and feet
     
    flpholt likes this.
  9. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    American and American! Not the rest of the planet and American!

    edit: I feel the need to clarify that the above was pure sarcasm.
     
    #9 mikesmiley, Jul 19, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
    flpholt likes this.
  10. tonyt76

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    81
    Alot of us live in the USA here...
     
  11. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    148
    Isnt it about time you abolished a 200 years old, archaic, illogical, British measurement system? I mean if you have trouble interpreting the numbers even though you where born in to the system, something isnt right. No one needs a calculator to know how many meters go in to a kilometer.
     
    MattyDread, GeoffJ and mikesmiley like this.
  12. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    When I select Imperial units, I want everything that way. The RTH altitude setting stays in metric. I think this can be confusing for some. There are already plenty of things to keep you busy when flying. Math calculations should not be one of them.
     
  13. telescott

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    89
    i agree the RTH should be in feet. but i finally figured out that 120m/400ft, 60m/200ft, 30m/100ft (not exactly but close enough). I keep my RTH at 40m unless I fly near hills.
     
  14. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    And a lot of us don't. So, you want them to do away with meters so it's just miles and feet?
     
    GeoffJ likes this.
  15. No_Fly_Zone

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    No. But a choice would be nice.
     
  17. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Canada here, NO. Hahaha

    Get with the modern program. Ha

    RedHotPoker
     
  18. fastfed

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    162
    of course they should have it, right next to the feet indicator (2850ft 0.59mi)

    why it doesn't show that is crazy
     
    tonyt76 and MasterBlaster like this.
  19. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    If it were in feet/miles, would you want it changed to metric?
     
  20. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    No Sir, I live in Alberta Canada. Hahaha

    RedHotPoker